Commander Nav Screen Problems - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Electronics / NAV Discussion This section contains discussion about the electronics system and NAV system in the Jeep Commander.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Points: 490, Level: 9 Points: 490, Level: 9 Points: 490, Level: 9
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Commander Nav Screen Problems

We purchased our XK used about 3-4 months ago. It is fully loaded with Nav and rear entertainment. Everything worked fine for the first few months. But a new development, the Nav screen seems to be toast. (See pic)...

I am a network admin, so I know that this screen, like a laptop screen, is likely dead. Has anyone else experienced this?? I have done a TON of searching and have come up blank.

Some of the things I've tried...

1. Disconnect battery and reconnect after about 10 minutes. (Should be noted that it doesn't seem like an electrical issue, because the audio and sirius still work)
2. Upon identifying that there was not much that I could do, I contacted Jeep. Despite the fact that we are the second owners and it is out of warranty, they are saying that there is nothing they can do.
3. I contacted Alpine in California and was told that all warranty issues have to be taken care of with the Manufacturer. They then gave me the number to there service center in New York (United Radio).
4. Called United Radio and they said that I could send the unit to them and they would evaluate it and give an estimate for free. It would likely cost about $475 to fix.