Jeep Commander Forum banner

Front end shake after camping trip - long drive thru mud

3K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  TwoJeepsinKS 
#1 ·
Hello all. I'm not a prolific poster, this is my third or fourth post. I hope someone here can help me out. I own a 2006 Commander, base model with 4.7. Roughly a month ago I took her to my Jeep dealership and had the front end aligned and tires rotated and balanced. The service tech said that I also had "mud in my tires" and that had contributed to the front end shake that took me to the dealership to begin with. Afterwards she drove out like water on glass, so smooth. Two weeks ago I pulled my camper trailer to the lake. On the way home we had a gully washer of a rain and the three miles of dirt road leading to my home was a swamp. She did great, pulled the weight of the camper thru it and got us home just fine. Now tho, my front end has a shake that is so bad I can't go over 50mph or so. I suspected that I might have "mud in my tires" again. It can't possibly be needing aligned again, right? Also, it bears noting that right before the camping trip my neighbor wired a CB radio for me and he unhooked the battery to set the grounding wire and power cable. I read somewhere that anytime the battery is disconnected you must ( on some models ) recalibrate the on board computer. The implication was that there could be performance problems if you don't, including suspension and ride performance. That doesn't make sense to me, but I'm not an expert.

My question is, how can I find out for myself what the problem is? And if it's mud in my tires, can I take care of that myself? I can't imagine that I'll have to take her to the shop after every trip to re-align the front end. And this whole recalibrating thing just sounds wonky to me.