Jeep Commander Forum banner

Another SRT Swap (This one's real)

74K views 192 replies 28 participants last post by  XK0611 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everybody!

I've been eyeballing this forum for a few years now but haven't signed up until just a couple days ago, because now i have a project!

I own the 2008 Jeep Commander Sport 4.7. It will soon be a 6.1. About a week ago I ordered a remanufactured long block from 3rd Strike Performance, and a number of other parts. I still have more to get but I could use some help. The most I've done on a vehicle was a rack and pinion replacement on a foxbody mustang, I've never taken on a task quite like this one, but I'm mechanically inclined, and I'm a nuclear mechanic in the Navy, so I'm confident I can get it done.

Here are the parts I know I need and/or I'm using:
Long Block (ordered)
Valve Covers
Coilover Covers (ordered)
Fuel Injectors (ordered)
Alternator 5.7/6.1 (ordered)
Compressor 5.7/6.1 (ordered)
Power Steering Pump
ECU 5.7 Commander (ordered)
Wiring Harness 6.1 GC (ordered)
Intake Manifold (ordered)
Exhaust Header (ordered)
Throttle Body
Fuel Rails
Oil Pan 5.7 Commander (ordered)

I've got a little over $2k left in my current budget until I have to start going from paycheck to paycheck. If I'm missing anything or anyone has any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated. I intend on documenting as much as I can and updating this thread as much as I can with lots of pictures when I start this undertaking. I am serious about this project, it's not going to be a dud where I just say "HAHA! I wanna do a SRT swap, into mah Mander!" and then not follow through. I've wanted to do this for a WHILE, and I can finally afford it. I have read the other SRT swap threads by Saturate and whatnot, and while helpful, didn't have everything I needed. I'd like to know more from a technical standpoint.

Thank you all in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·