How to change front rotors and pads [Archive] - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum

: How to change front rotors and pads

bob123
01-03-2010, 06:07 PM
I am not a professionally and will not be held responsible for any problems caused by these instructions. I created this write up showing the idea on how to do a brake job on either the XK or Wk.

Warning: Semi-metallic brake pads contain asbestos so make sure to take the correct precautions to avoid inhaling brake dust.

Most of these pictures were taken when the garage door was closed (since it was in the low 20's outside) so the picture quality is fair.

Tools need for the job.
3/8" socket set
1/2" socket set
Breaker bar
Torque wrench
Brake pad spreader or c-clamp
Brake parts cleaner
bungee cords
Of course jack and jack stands

Also make sure you have plenty of shop towels and gloves since this can be a messy job. Make a note to yourself when I mean a lot.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/JeepC/How%20to/P1010294.jpg

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/JeepC/How%20to/P1010296.jpg

If you have frozen rotors like I did you will need a rubber mallet, any size hammer of your choice, and plenty of penetrating oil.

I only needed to have both front rotors resurfaced and while the rotors are off it was best to change the pads to Wagner ceramics even though the old pads had plenty of meat left.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/JeepC/How%20to/P1010304.jpg

To start off, first loosen the lug nuts with a breaker bar before you jack up the vehicle.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/JeepC/How%20to/P1010272.jpg

For me, I did not have a tall enough jack to jack up on the frame so I had to jack up on the crossmember.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/JeepC/How%20to/P1010273.jpg

Once the wheel is off you can begin to take off the caliper.

This is the best time to get your bungee cords ready since you do not want the caliper to dangle by the brake line.