Code U1411 = Implausible fuel volume signal [Archive] - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum

: Code U1411 = Implausible fuel volume signal


smblk
03-26-2008, 02:35 PM
Hello everyone.

We just purchased a used 2006 Commander Limited. I has about 6 months of warranty left. I haven't taken to the dealer yet. I wanted to do a little research before talking with the sevice department. I am an automotive mechanic from the 80's and know a little about todays technology (CAN OBDII).

When I picked up the Commander, there was no issues with the "check engine" light. We tried the remote start after getting home and the next time we drove the car, I noticed the "check engine" light was on (code U1411 - "Implausible fuel volume signal". After a few drive cycles the light went out. Tried the remote start the next day, and low and behold, the lights back on. I reset it manually. Next remote start, back on. See the pattern here?? I think it might occur when the ignition switch is turned to "on" after entering the car. I need to really analize the time the code is set vs. run time.

Has anyone out there experienced this issue and successfully had it fixed?
If so, what was the fix?

I am afraid this could turn into a real run around. Thanks, Jerry (smblk)

blinkgold311
03-26-2008, 05:16 PM
That's a great question. I would presume that you are correct in your diagnosis, and also even more correct in that you will get the run around if you go to the dealer. As far as what to do, I don't have a clue. Is their an ACC wire from the remote start to the ignition? Maybe it is loose, that would be my best guess.

smblk
03-26-2008, 08:34 PM
blinkgold311
You and I have the identical cars. Dark Khaki! Awesome color. Pretty rare. Hemi. Fuel is killing us. Thanks for your response. Jerry

smblk
03-26-2008, 08:41 PM
I did a little more trouble shooting. I noticed that none of the instrument cluster is operative after a remote start. The instruments do not become active until the key is inserted and selected to the on position. This would account for the "implausible fuel volume" code u1411 (no fuel volume with engine running). Any ideas out there. I wish I had the install instructions for this unit.

mfaddict
11-23-2008, 02:48 PM
Hey, my jeep has the same code but I do not have remote start...did you ever resolve your jeeps problem? If so, what was the culprit?

AcidCold
01-19-2009, 06:27 PM
Hey guys,
Can anyone help me? I have a U1411 DTC code which means..
U1411 ‐ Implausible Fuel Volume Signal Received
Can anyone tell me what that means in plain english? thanks.

jeep5253
01-19-2009, 06:34 PM
Do you have a remote start system ? And if so, did it happen when you used the remote start ?

AcidCold
01-19-2009, 06:42 PM
I believe so, this morning i jumped in the Jeep and noticed this code, should i try to disconnect the battery to try and reset it?

Ranger6882
01-19-2009, 06:43 PM
U1411-IMPLAUSIBLE FUEL VOLUME SIGNAL RECEIVED



For a complete wiring diagram Refer to Section 8W.

When Monitored:
Ignition on.

Set Condition:
The fuel volume message the PCM is receiving is implausible. The circuit is continuously monitored. One Trip fault.

Possible Causes
CAN B OPEN OR SHORTED
CLUSTER MODULE
FRONT CONTROL MODULE (FCM)
POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM)


Always perform the Pre-Diagnostic Troubleshooting procedure before proceeding. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .

Theory of Operation
The Front Control Module isn't receiving a fuel volume signal over CAN B from the Cluster Module. The FCM has to send the PCM a fuel volume signal over CAN C. The signal the FCM sends over CAN C is implausible.




Diagnostic Test
1. ACTIVE DTC

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ignition on, engine not running.
With a scan tool, view DTCs.

Is the DTC Active at this time?

Yes
Go To 2

No
Refer to the INTERMITTENT CONDITION Diagnostic Procedure. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .


2. CAN B BUS HARDWARE DTCS ALSO ACTIVE

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With a scan tool check for DTCs in the FCM.

Are any CAN B Hardware related DTCs active at this time?

Yes
(Refer to 8 - ELECTRICAL/ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULES - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) for the appropriate diagnostic procedures.

No
Replace and program the Powertrain Control Module per Service Information.
Perform the POWERTRAIN VERIFICATION TEST. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - STANDARD PROCEDURE)

AcidCold
01-19-2009, 06:46 PM
Might just have to take it in if i need to replace that module huh? darnit!

Ranger6882
01-19-2009, 06:52 PM
Trade it in for a Commander!:stickpoke:

jeep5253
01-19-2009, 06:54 PM
A few other members have had this code come up when they have used the remote start. According to them it cleared after several starts with the key.

AcidCold
01-19-2009, 07:09 PM
A few other members have had this code come up when they have used the remote start. According to them it cleared after several starts with the key.

Thanks, i was starting to freak out! never had a problem before besides the axle shaft but that was my fault.

smblk
01-19-2009, 07:48 PM
I have the same issue and it is dirctly related to my remote start. My remote start is faulty in that it turns off all accessories immediately after start. All the dashboard indications are dead while the car is sitting there running. Dashboard indications are not recovered until the key in inserted and turned to the on position. The problem with this is that the computer looks at the car running with an absolute zero fuel volume indicated. It sees this as an implausible situation. It then sets U1411 factory code. This code clears after several drive cycles as long as I don't use the remote start.

On of these days I will get the thing over to Jeep and let them trouble shoot it. Hopefully it simply needs a new remote start module.

AcidCold
01-19-2009, 08:25 PM
I went outside to disconnect the battery but before i did that i inserted the key without the remote start and the light was not illuminated! i guess if fixed it self.. first time this happens and i have had the remote start for about 2 yrs, go figure! thanks again all you guys for the help! so far this site has been good to me.

CrazyKage
11-13-2009, 09:25 AM
I have the same problem with the gauges going off and on with the same code. To my knowledge, I don't have a remote start but I bought it used from an auction.

Kansas1230
07-09-2011, 09:57 PM
So it doesn't look like a ton of new info has been discovered about this code, but I'll throw my situation out there anyways.
Just finished installing a back-up camera (Accelvision RVC 1100) and upon starting it up to test it out I threw this code. Reading over Ranger's post, I can identify a few reasons this happened. First, while considering tapping the reverse+ wire in the PCM, I disconnected harness II with the battery still connected (a really bad habit of mine). Second, with the gauge cluster removed for running wires I turned the key to "on" to test it out (didn't work since my ACC relay was disabled by the missing cluster). Third, I tapped directly into the brake light harness to power the camera; 12v+ off the white/lt. green reverse wire, grounded to the black wire in the harness. My sources suggested that the reverse wires were not CAN BUS controlled, but I still wonder if this setup could be shorting something there or back at the PCM. I had the code cleared at Advanced Auto tonight, and started/drove fine after that, but when I just hopped in the car to test the camera in low light conditions, the "Check Engine Light" flashes while the key is the "On" position (not running, when the CEL, oil, etc. lights are usually on). No light upon starting, though. Any thoughts?

U1411-IMPLAUSIBLE FUEL VOLUME SIGNAL RECEIVED



For a complete wiring diagram Refer to Section 8W.

When Monitored:
Ignition on.

Set Condition:
The fuel volume message the PCM is receiving is implausible. The circuit is continuously monitored. One Trip fault.

Possible Causes
CAN B OPEN OR SHORTED
CLUSTER MODULE
FRONT CONTROL MODULE (FCM)
POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM)


Always perform the Pre-Diagnostic Troubleshooting procedure before proceeding. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .

Theory of Operation
The Front Control Module isn't receiving a fuel volume signal over CAN B from the Cluster Module. The FCM has to send the PCM a fuel volume signal over CAN C. The signal the FCM sends over CAN C is implausible.




Diagnostic Test
1. ACTIVE DTC

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ignition on, engine not running.
With a scan tool, view DTCs.

Is the DTC Active at this time?

Yes
Go To 2

No
Refer to the INTERMITTENT CONDITION Diagnostic Procedure. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .


2. CAN B BUS HARDWARE DTCS ALSO ACTIVE

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With a scan tool check for DTCs in the FCM.

Are any CAN B Hardware related DTCs active at this time?

Yes
(Refer to 8 - ELECTRICAL/ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULES - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) for the appropriate diagnostic procedures.

No
Replace and program the Powertrain Control Module per Service Information.
Perform the POWERTRAIN VERIFICATION TEST. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - STANDARD PROCEDURE)

HueyPilotVN
07-09-2011, 10:24 PM
OK, I will chime in on this one with my limited knowledge about the on board computer situation.

When I had my second fuel tank installed the fellow who owned the shop said that I would likely on occasion get a check engine light for an implauible fuel volume signal.

I have on a few occasions got the signal and had my main fuel guage go to empty and my empty fuel light come on. Usually this happens when I have full tanks and I know that I have plenty of fuel available. After a few cycles it goes off or disconnecting tne battery will also remove it.

I do not know if the following is true, but the fellow seemed to know what he was talking about, and it is his profession. He told me that the onboard computer compares the reported volume of fuel from the in tank sender to a second signal that is generated by measuring the pressure of the volume of air remaining in the tank. According to him there is some kind of small compressor that pressurizes the fuel tank and compares the calculated pressure at reported volumes with the actual air pressure in the tank.

Now do not shoot the messenger, I am just passing along the information.

The problem that you are discussing it probably caused by gremlins in the CAN system but I thought I would add this obscure information anyway.