service 4WD system message!! - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Jeep Commander Jeep Commander Header Right
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Sponsor Links
Go Back   Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > Problems / Dealer Service

Problems / Dealer Service Having a problem with your vehicle? Were you treated fairly or poorly at a dealer? Warranty issues? Let us know.

JeepCommander.com is the premier Jeep Commander Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2012, 09:59 AM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
service 4WD system message!!

hey guys! this message came up on the display last thursday and since then when message is displayed the truck seems fine but when its not on the truck dont want to turn like the clutches in the front diff arent working well(strong vibration) and the steering wheel is hard to control if you let go it goes back strait.yesterday i tried the 4 lo and it went on and off with no problems so i tried again but this time after the on and off then went back to park, i tried reverse and a grinding noise came up like and old 4speed tranny you try to put in gear without a good clutch

any ideas on what it might be? i saw treads with similar problem but didnt find a definitive answer some say the solenoids or the shift module,
thanks!!
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72

Last edited by H311B0Y; 07-08-2012 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-08-2012, 09:27 PM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
tried the key danse and no codes came up
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2012, 10:46 AM
md4wg md4wg is offline
Junior Member
Points: 1,709, Level: 24 Points: 1,709, Level: 24 Points: 1,709, Level: 24
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
If the message came up there is a code stored, just may not show up with the key dance. Go by an auto parts place like advance or oreilly's and they will scan it for free. That's how I got the code after the service 4x4 message came on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2012, 11:49 AM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
ok thanks! i tried my blutooth odb reader and torque app on my phone and no codes came up guess it doesnt read all modules.ill try to find a shop that can read it or ill have to go to the stealer
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2012, 03:52 PM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
well no luck! nobody can do it and the dealer said next monday for a scan thats a long wait for a 5 min job!

ive put the truck on the lift ,unpluged battery and shift motor connector and wiggled the wires at the diff solenoids,everything looks ok! i try it later when i leave my shop!
god i feel so powerless!lol
i own a garage but not the scan needed for this truck!gotta say i specialize in corvettes lol!
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2012, 08:13 AM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
found someone with a scan that worked! we found c1417 front diff control circuit low
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:27 PM
gato_negro's Avatar
gato_negro gato_negro is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,403, Level: 29 Points: 2,403, Level: 29 Points: 2,403, Level: 29
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 18
Had an issue like that with my first commander. I wasnt able to upshift or down shift in drive. It ended up being the shift module.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
__________________
2008 Jeep Commander Overland 5.7L 4X4 QDII
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2012, 03:13 PM
H311B0Y's Avatar
H311B0Y H311B0Y is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 121
replaced front solenoid and harness 2 weeks ago with new dealer lube and additive and still have the message differential is almost all the time fully locked with the old solenoid it seemed to slip making a loud sound.
guess ill have to replace the fdcm!?
any ideas guys?
__________________
2006 commander limited 5.7 hemi silver loaded and now with hid's hi low and fogs,now with viper 5901 alarm starter combo and idatalink ads al ca ch5,yokohama geolandar I/T GO72
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2012, 07:53 PM
davebbq's Avatar
davebbq davebbq is offline
Member
Points: 6,943, Level: 54 Points: 6,943, Level: 54 Points: 6,943, Level: 54
Level up: 97% Level up: 97% Level up: 97%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2012, 04:17 PM
chrali chrali is offline
Member
Points: 973, Level: 16 Points: 973, Level: 16 Points: 973, Level: 16
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 45
Great video on changing the solenoid. Enjoyed that!
__________________
************************************
Encourage alternative fuels - Use all the petrol!
************************************

Last edited by chrali; 08-13-2012 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > Problems / Dealer Service


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.