I think I'm missing my intake duct? - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Jeep Commander Jeep Commander Header Right
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Sponsor Links
Go Back   Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > General Commander Discussion

General Commander Discussion General Discussion involving the Jeep Commander goes here. If it does not fit into a more specific category below, post it here.

JeepCommander.com is the premier Jeep Commander Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2012, 04:25 AM
cmcaplan cmcaplan is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
I think I'm missing my intake duct?

Hey guys. I joined this forum a few years ago when I got my Jeep Commander and browse sometimes but I'm not too active. I was wondering if I could get some input on something with my Jeep. I'm not much of a car guy but noticed the other day jumping my battery that there are two cylinders that look like they used to have some sort of tube between them. I'm 90% sure this is my intake to the engine, and that for who knows how long my engine has been taking in unfiltered air. Does anyone know much much this duct would cost to buy? I was thinking that might be something people mod so maybe I would have some luck in the WTB on here. Car seems to run as normal but should I take it in to get engine checked out? I have NO idea what happened to that duct I don't mess under the hood and don't do any off roading! Here is a picture of what I'm talking about.



Thanks so much!!

Chad
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-23-2012, 06:26 AM
rblapham's Avatar
rblapham rblapham is offline
Senior Member
Points: 5,568, Level: 48 Points: 5,568, Level: 48 Points: 5,568, Level: 48
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 260
On your 3.7 that is the air intake from the air filter in the left box - to the engine intake on the right. Yes there should be a part/tube there. Right now you are not getting any air filtering - sucking in all the dirt I have the 5.7 so can't provide a picture of what you are missing. Someone here should post a picture of the 3.7. Yes you should fix it and your may have caused some engine wear running without it, but not knowing how long it has been that way - ??? Would not worry about getting the engine internals checked, just keep in mind what you have found and tell any mechanic in the future that it was running on unfiltered air.
__________________
06 Commander Limited Hemi - QDII,
05 Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7
Past - 89 Comanche, 98 Grand Cherokee (2WD), 2000 Cherokee
Had to replace the brakes - they opened more gas stations in town
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2012, 07:32 AM
xjtrailrider's Avatar
xjtrailrider xjtrailrider is offline
Senior Member
Points: 5,186, Level: 46 Points: 5,186, Level: 46 Points: 5,186, Level: 46
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Posts: 451
That is an important piece! get it and put it on!!

Now, just looking at the pic I do not think you have been without it long. The Sherlock Holmes in me says that the lack of dirt/dust at the mounting flanges of the intake tube suggest that it has only been missing for a short while.

Have you had any work done lately? Tune up? New air filter? If so go back to that garage and rip their ***hole apart!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2012, 09:00 AM
cmcaplan cmcaplan is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks for the replies. I called the Jeep dealearship and they said the part was only $36 so that's good. Does anyone know if I can just pop it on myself or does it use clamps or anything?

I had some body work done on the front 2 months ago but they didn't do anything with the engine. That's the only thing I can think of because I for sure haven't messed with anything! I figured 2 months later it would be hard to call them about it and being only $36 probably not worth it!

You don't think I should get my engine "cleaned" or checked out? I imagine sucking in dirt and dust can't be good for it but like I said I haven't noticed it running any differently!

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2012, 09:06 AM
Erk469's Avatar
Erk469 Erk469 is offline
Member
Points: 1,190, Level: 18 Points: 1,190, Level: 18 Points: 1,190, Level: 18
Level up: 90% Level up: 90% Level up: 90%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Whitman, MASS
Posts: 81
It's easy to put on..it's installed with clamps...like hose clamps...It would take about 5-10 mins to installed. I would not really worry about it unless it starts running rough or a check engine like comes on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2012, 09:15 AM
VegasUnderworld's Avatar
VegasUnderworld VegasUnderworld is offline
Member
Points: 2,920, Level: 33 Points: 2,920, Level: 33 Points: 2,920, Level: 33
Level up: 14% Level up: 14% Level up: 14%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 85
Short term, you should be fine, but it's something that needs to be fixed. I'd go back to the shop and ask. Of course, they'll deny they did it, but it's still not too bad. You don't have to get that part at ther dealer. As you can see in this picture of mine, it's just a flex tube. You should be able to pick one up at your local parts store.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-11-23_07-08-01_898.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	203.8 KB
ID:	5945  
__________________
VegasUnderworld.com
One foot in the grave.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2012, 01:20 PM
Nitemare3219's Avatar
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Springfield, OH
Posts: 388
Oh my, LOL. How crazy to lose that piece and have no idea where it went! But yes, that'd be the first place I'd go is to get that tube and get it on!.. in fact, I have my stock intake assembly sitting out in the garage, so if you somehow can't find the part, I have it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2012, 03:54 PM
jcoulter's Avatar
jcoulter jcoulter is offline
Senior Member
Points: 8,195, Level: 61 Points: 8,195, Level: 61 Points: 8,195, Level: 61
Level up: 15% Level up: 15% Level up: 15%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orion, IL
Posts: 1,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erk469 View Post
It's easy to put on..it's installed with clamps...like hose clamps...It would take about 5-10 mins to installed. I would not really worry about it unless it starts running rough or a check engine like comes on.
With that hose missing all the air going into the engine is not going through the air filter. It is a big deal if something big gets into there and through the intake.
__________________
06 Sport-4.7L with QT2
My Garage
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2012, 10:53 PM
cmcaplan cmcaplan is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitemare3219 View Post
Oh my, LOL. How crazy to lose that piece and have no idea where it went! But yes, that'd be the first place I'd go is to get that tube and get it on!.. in fact, I have my stock intake assembly sitting out in the garage, so if you somehow can't find the part, I have it.
Thanks! I think one of the dealerships has it but if I can't find it I'll let you know!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2012, 10:55 PM
cmcaplan cmcaplan is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27 Points: 2,148, Level: 27
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoulter View Post
With that hose missing all the air going into the engine is not going through the air filter. It is a big deal if something big gets into there and through the intake.
I understand that it's important to get the tube put back on but do you think I also need to get my engine cleaned or checked out even if I haven't noticed anything different yet? I assume I would hear or notice something if anything big had gotten sucked in.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > General Commander Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.