Code U1411 = Implausible fuel volume signal - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Jeep Commander Jeep Commander Header Right
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Sponsor Links
Go Back   Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > Regular Service / Maintenance > Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC)

JeepCommander.com is the premier Jeep Commander Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:35 PM
smblk smblk is offline
Junior Member
Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Code U1411 = Implausible fuel volume signal

Hello everyone.

We just purchased a used 2006 Commander Limited. I has about 6 months of warranty left. I haven't taken to the dealer yet. I wanted to do a little research before talking with the sevice department. I am an automotive mechanic from the 80's and know a little about todays technology (CAN OBDII).

When I picked up the Commander, there was no issues with the "check engine" light. We tried the remote start after getting home and the next time we drove the car, I noticed the "check engine" light was on (code U1411 - "Implausible fuel volume signal". After a few drive cycles the light went out. Tried the remote start the next day, and low and behold, the lights back on. I reset it manually. Next remote start, back on. See the pattern here?? I think it might occur when the ignition switch is turned to "on" after entering the car. I need to really analize the time the code is set vs. run time.

Has anyone out there experienced this issue and successfully had it fixed?
If so, what was the fix?

I am afraid this could turn into a real run around. Thanks, Jerry (smblk)

Last edited by smblk; 03-26-2008 at 08:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:16 PM
blinkgold311 blinkgold311 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 1,273, Level: 19 Points: 1,273, Level: 19 Points: 1,273, Level: 19
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Big Lake, MN
Posts: 164
That's a great question. I would presume that you are correct in your diagnosis, and also even more correct in that you will get the run around if you go to the dealer. As far as what to do, I don't have a clue. Is their an ACC wire from the remote start to the ignition? Maybe it is loose, that would be my best guess.
__________________
2006 Commander Limited, 5.7L V8, QD II, Dark Khaki, Mopar Performance CAI/Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:34 PM
smblk smblk is offline
Junior Member
Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
blinkgold311
You and I have the identical cars. Dark Khaki! Awesome color. Pretty rare. Hemi. Fuel is killing us. Thanks for your response. Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:41 PM
smblk smblk is offline
Junior Member
Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12 Points: 648, Level: 12
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
I did a little more trouble shooting. I noticed that none of the instrument cluster is operative after a remote start. The instruments do not become active until the key is inserted and selected to the on position. This would account for the "implausible fuel volume" code u1411 (no fuel volume with engine running). Any ideas out there. I wish I had the install instructions for this unit.

Last edited by smblk; 03-26-2008 at 08:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2008, 02:48 PM
mfaddict mfaddict is offline
Junior Member
Points: 257, Level: 5 Points: 257, Level: 5 Points: 257, Level: 5
Level up: 14% Level up: 14% Level up: 14%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Hey, my jeep has the same code but I do not have remote start...did you ever resolve your jeeps problem? If so, what was the culprit?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:27 PM
AcidCold AcidCold is offline
Guest
Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 177
DTC code U1411 Help??

Hey guys,
Can anyone help me? I have a U1411 DTC code which means..
U1411 ‐ Implausible Fuel Volume Signal Received
Can anyone tell me what that means in plain english? thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:34 PM
jeep5253's Avatar
jeep5253 jeep5253 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 46,291, Level: 100 Points: 46,291, Level: 100 Points: 46,291, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14,195
Do you have a remote start system ? And if so, did it happen when you used the remote start ?
__________________
2006 Steel Blue 5.7L HEMI Limited 4x4 Build Date: June 9, 2006 Hour 14
Interior: Dark Slate/Light Graystone with Saddle Brown Leather Seats
Quadra-Drive II, NAV, DVD, Trailer Tow Group IV, Off-Road Group II, Remote Start, UConnect, Rear Backup
Camera, Chrome Wheels, Magnaflow cat-back exhaust, Daytime Running Lights enabled
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:42 PM
AcidCold AcidCold is offline
Guest
Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 177
I believe so, this morning i jumped in the Jeep and noticed this code, should i try to disconnect the battery to try and reset it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:43 PM
Ranger6882's Avatar
Ranger6882 Ranger6882 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 19,553, Level: 88 Points: 19,553, Level: 88 Points: 19,553, Level: 88
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,387
U1411-IMPLAUSIBLE FUEL VOLUME SIGNAL RECEIVED



For a complete wiring diagram Refer to Section 8W.

When Monitored:
Ignition on.

Set Condition:
The fuel volume message the PCM is receiving is implausible. The circuit is continuously monitored. One Trip fault.

Possible Causes
CAN B OPEN OR SHORTED
CLUSTER MODULE
FRONT CONTROL MODULE (FCM)
POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM)


Always perform the Pre-Diagnostic Troubleshooting procedure before proceeding. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .

Theory of Operation
The Front Control Module isn't receiving a fuel volume signal over CAN B from the Cluster Module. The FCM has to send the PCM a fuel volume signal over CAN C. The signal the FCM sends over CAN C is implausible.




Diagnostic Test
1. ACTIVE DTC

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ignition on, engine not running.
With a scan tool, view DTCs.

Is the DTC Active at this time?

Yes
Go To 2

No
Refer to the INTERMITTENT CONDITION Diagnostic Procedure. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) .


2. CAN B BUS HARDWARE DTCS ALSO ACTIVE

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With a scan tool check for DTCs in the FCM.

Are any CAN B Hardware related DTCs active at this time?

Yes
(Refer to 8 - ELECTRICAL/ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULES - DIAGNOSIS AND TESTING) for the appropriate diagnostic procedures.

No
Replace and program the Powertrain Control Module per Service Information.
Perform the POWERTRAIN VERIFICATION TEST. (Refer to 9 - ENGINE - STANDARD PROCEDURE)
__________________
2006 Commander limited all options
2006 Nissian Nismo
2009 Lexus SC430
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:46 PM
AcidCold AcidCold is offline
Guest
Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33 Points: 2,991, Level: 33
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 177
Might just have to take it in if i need to replace that module huh? darnit!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum > Jeep Commander Discussion > Regular Service / Maintenance > Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.