Jeep Commander Forum banner

Guard Dog Tires

5K views 22 replies 6 participants last post by  VegasUnderworld 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey guys do you guys think this tires will fit in stock rims with a 2inch lift I don't have the lift yet but once I get it I think this tires would look nice:

https://www.treadwright.com/p-98-245-75r17-guard-dog-m-t-e.aspx

Based on the tire description what do you guys think? Since it states the tire diameter is: 32.25" Size: 245 75R17 Not going to put all the info since I included the link. Also if I am not allowed to put links sorry in advance. :blueblob:

"By the way don't this tires look cool!!!"

#2 ·
I've been contemplating retreads for several years with treadwright. I've seen great reviews and heard horror stories. I'm running that size with my 2" lift now and I was hoping I could go to 265/70/17 but I'm unsure if it'll fit.

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

#4 ·
Sorry I misspoke I have 245's. I did research and read 265's will fit but you'll have rubbing on the pinch weld so you'll need to fix that. Ill be doing the same tread from treadwright when I need new tires in 265's though. My buddy who owns a wheel shop said 265's will fit also

Edit: thought you were looking at 265's. trying to multi task and I'm failing!! Yes I have 245's no rubbing at all. No spacers

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

#8 ·
I've been running a set of these--I have a thread around somewhere.

However I recently had one begin coming apart on a road trip to bear lake. Of course it happened in the middle of nowhere WY, and I did have a spare (though it took forever to fill and I tried to kill the battery).

Not a bad tire, but be aware that they can come apart--necessitating purchasing 4 new tires with the awd system we have.

#10 ·
If you get 5, make sure you rotate them all--even the spare. Or it could be so far off at some point as to cause issues if you use it.

#11 ·