Synthetic vs. Blend vs. "Regular" - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Regular Service / Maintenance This section contains discussion about regular service and maintenance (upkeep) of your Jeep Commander

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-12-2009, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Points: 1,345, Level: 20 Points: 1,345, Level: 20 Points: 1,345, Level: 20
Level up: 45% Level up: 45% Level up: 45%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Synthetic vs. Blend vs. "Regular"

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to the world of Jeeps and 4-wheel drives and quite honestly I'm not very knowledgeable about the general maintenance of cars, aside of course from the usual "change your oil every 3,000 miles, etc."

I was hoping you guys (and gals) could help me understand what type of motor oil is best for my Commander. It's an '06 4.7L V8 with 30,000 miles. I'm the second owner as I just purchased it 2 months ago so I have no idea what was done prior to me. I searched some topics on here and noticed that most everyone agreed that full synthetic was best for our vehicles. Armed with that knowledge, I went last week to do my first oil/filter change. I took it to a place down the street and asked what their "house" oil was. I was told it was Kendall. I explained that I understood that synthetic was the best so I asked them to put Castrol Syntec in my Jeep. I patted myself on the back as I walked out for having such incredible knowledge of motor oil and went home and waited for the call to come get my Commander.