light bar in front of the sunroof - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Exterior Appearance Mods Discuss exterior appearance mods here

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Points: 1,500, Level: 21 Points: 1,500, Level: 21 Points: 1,500, Level: 21
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

light bar in front of the sunroof

i'd like to mount 5 or 6 6x9s on a light bar, but i dont want to use the roof rack, and i dont want the huge lights integrated with a roof basket. i'd like a lower profile bar that sits up front, in front of the sunroof. if i can't find a universal bar that i like i'll have my bro-in-law fabricate me one (he's a welder by trade). my question is, will this interfere with using the sunroof, because i do use it on a daily basis. has anyone tried this? does it increase wind noise more than a sunroof wind deflector could fix? if i stick my fist out of the sunroof while driving it's pretty loud, but i doubt this is a fair comparison really.

in case it makes a difference i would have the lights mounted to the front of the bar, not on top of it. something like this (but of course not behind the sunroof):
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 09:26 PM
Points: 4,992, Level: 45 Points: 4,992, Level: 45 Points: 4,992, Level: 45
Level up: 21% Level up: 21% Level up: 21%