how to get more fuel economy out of my 06 4.7 commander. - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Programmers/Engine Mods Questions or advice about programmers or engine mods? This is the place...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-08-2015, 11:29 PM Thread Starter

how to get more fuel economy out of my 06 4.7 commander.

Hi, I am new to the commander. I am looking to get the most mileage improvement for money spent. I am not wishing to upgrade to 89 or 93 octane gas.

I have been thinking of deleting the mechanical cooling and going with a dual electric fan set up. It has a K n N filter in an oem intake system and stock exhaust. I want to keep it quiet also as it is my girlfriend's. Im in a welding class now and was going to get high flow cats and headers if I can get for cheap as we are both full time college students.

Thanks guys and gals for the input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-09-2015, 09:37 AM
Points: 6,645, Level: 53 Points: 6,645, Level: 53 Points: 6,645, Level: 53
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

The are other threads having to do with mileage on the 4.7 commanders I also have an 06 and the only other thing that got me a slight increase on mpg besides replacing worn sparkplugs was getting the superchips programmer, the economy mode did not do much for me but the 87 performance mode gave me much better throttle response and an increase of about 1.5mpg better with mixed driving city and highway. Now I average about 14.4 wile commuting to work before I was only able to get 12.5mpg.

06 Jeep Commander 4.7 QT II wih RC lift, Superchips 3872 and 245/75R17 Thunderer MT Tires

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-09-2015, 11:24 AM
Points: 7,991, Level: 60 Points: 7,991, Level: 60 Points: 7,991, Level: 60