Need A/C Help. Expansion valve replacement? - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
General Commander Discussion General Discussion involving the Jeep Commander goes here. If it does not fit into a more specific category below, post it here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Points: 824, Level: 15 Points: 824, Level: 15 Points: 824, Level: 15
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2009
Trim Package: Sport
Power-Train: 3.7L V-6
4WD
If 4WD - system: QT-I
Current Mileage: 116000
Angry Need A/C Help. Expansion valve replacement?

Hey Jeepers Peoples,

FYI, I used the search and have been searching the internet for Jeep specific expansion valve issues to no avail.

So I have been chasing down an A/C issue ever since I bought my 2009 Commander XK a couple weeks ago. A/C works decent on the driver's side, warmer on the passenger's side, at idle the whole system seems to lose cold air, but when driving it's fine. Compressor seems fine, doesn't click on/off.

I pulled the blower, it had leaves and stuff in it, Im sure that is helping to block my evap in the vents, but doubt that is the root of my issue. Then, I checked the low-side pressure and it was low, so I topped off the system with some R134a, brought the pressure up and seemed to help with cold air on both sides. But, this has since started to wind down and happened fairly quickly within a short timespan (2-3 weeks?). I was dreading the evap replacement and hope that isnt the issue.

I decided to run the pressure again, it was low (under 40s?), so I obviously had a leak somewhere in the system. Added a little PAG46 with R134a—because I figured if the previous owner was adding R134a he may not have been adding oil—to it and noticed that at my expansion valve box, there was definitely a drip or two that came out.