I want a lift, but don't know where to start... - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Suspension / Lifts This is the place to discuss the suspension, lift systems, and other stuff underneath your Jeep Commander

8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-12-2016, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
Points: 180, Level: 3 Points: 180, Level: 3 Points: 180, Level: 3
Level up: 60% Level up: 60% Level up: 60%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

I want a lift, but don't know where to start...

Hi all, newbie here. I have owned Jeeps wrangler before, but this is my first Commander (bigger family - needed the 7 seats)...
Anyway, I got me a 2010 Jeep commander a couple of month ago, I'm pretty happy with it so far, already took it camping with the family. But I have to lift this car and put some bigger tires soon to fall in love with it completely.

So, I was simply gonna go with a RC lift kit, but I decided to do some research first, and now I'm pretty confused

Options:

Should I go with the 2" RC kit and replace the shocks at the same time?
Should I go with the 2" RC kit and replace the shocks later?
Do I need to replace the springs?
Should I go with the Old Man Emu kit (high price) but replace it all at once? is it worth it?

All I want is bigger tires, a leveled jeep, and a smooth ride... I don't want to feel every bump in the road.

Thanks for all of your suggestion!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-12-2016, 02:51 PM
Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42
Level up: 39% Level up: 39% Level up: 39%

Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2006
Trim Package: Sport
2WD
If 4WD - system: QT-I
Hay,

Welcome to the forum. which trim do you have on your XK, is it the hemi, how many miles do you have on it?

for a simple lift you can go with the spacer lift

RC & Rusty advertise a 2" lift

Rockyroad advertises a 2.25" Lift