Superlift vibration issues with QDII? - Jeep Commander Forums: Jeep Commander Forum
Suspension / Lifts This is the place to discuss the suspension, lift systems, and other stuff underneath your Jeep Commander

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-28-2016, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Points: 585, Level: 11 Points: 585, Level: 11 Points: 585, Level: 11
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Superlift vibration issues with QDII?

So I just bought a 2008 Jeep Commander with the 5.7 HEMI, and Quada-Drive II.

I was just ready to pull the trigger on buying a 4" Superlift kit for it, when Superlift mentioned that almost half of the people who install these on "all wheel drive" Commandos experience a vibration when driving. They did not specify at what speed or anything, just that they suspect it's from the front drive shaft.

I'm new to off road vehicles, so forgive my ignorance here...

So I've read on this forum that Quada-Drive II is the best Commando four wheel drive system. It is however, an "all wheel drive" system, right?

That said, is there an issue I should be concerned about before moving forward with the 4" Superlift kit? Has anyone else experienced this issue with QDII and a superlift kit? Is the problem and rememdy known by those in this forum?

One thought would be if there is a way to turn off the AWD function of the QDII when just road driving. Is that possible?

Now I'm nervous about buying a 4" Superlift kit. Any advice would be appreciated? I couldn't find any threads on hear directly discussing vibration issues for QDII with a 4" Superlift kit. Please help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-28-2016, 12:48 PM
Points: 16,022, Level: 81 Points: 16,022, Level: 81 Points: 16,022, Level: 81
Level up: 35% Level up: 35% Level up: 35%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%

Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2006
Trim Package: Limited
Power-Train: 4.7L V-8
4WD