Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2007
Trim Package: Limited
Power-Train: 5.7L V-8 Hemi
4WD
If 4WD - system: QT-II
Current Mileage: 94,500
Many Jeeps, first commander!

Greetings all! Just purchased an 07 Commander Limited, 5.7L and very excited about it. I'm new to the Commander, but not new to Jeeps, starting with a CJ-7 Renegade in high school, followed by a ZJ, XJ, TJ, JK, and now the XK! I recently upgraded my 08 JKU engine to a 6.0L LS w/ 435hp/430 torque at the rear wheels. Definitely a lot more fun to drive!

Anyway, I picked up the 07 Commander for some mild mods and use as a secondary vehicle. I have a few issues to overcome, but overall it's a nice truck. I intend to do the 2" OME lift with new UCAs, and will be looking for some JK wheels and larger tires.

the XK is equipt with the boston acoustics system, although the head unit barely functions and will need to be replaced. It only does AM/FM, no SiriusXM/CD/Nav. I know there will be a number of differing opinions, but is it worth replacing with the mygig nav unit (for factory appearance) or should I just go aftermarket? (I like having the built in Nav and listen to Sirius XM most of the time).

Next question, regarding the climate control. the blower and selector dials work fine, however, the individual temp knobs are not working correctly. The only way for the AC to blow cold is with the setting on "LOW", if I turn the knob to any temp, warm air comes out (regardless of interior temp). Wondering if it's a switch issue, (interior) thermostat, or something more significant.

Thanks in advance!

Tim (Mesa, AZ)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-10-2017, 12:43 PM
Super Moderator
Points: 23,998, Level: 94 Points: 23,998, Level: 94 Points: 23,998, Level: 94
Level up: 65% Level up: 65% Level up: 65%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

Model year: 2008
Trim Package: Sport
Power-Train: 4.7L V-8
4WD
Current Mileage: 101,200
Garage
Quote: