Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2006
Trim Package: Sport
Power-Train: 4.7L V-8
4WD
If 4WD - system: QT-II
Current Mileage: 113,000
Hey Everyone

Hey everyone, I've got a new project vehicle and I heard this was a great place for any help I might need along the road. I am not new to Jeeps I've had 3 WJs, a few TJs, and now I have a 2006 Xk with 4.7 at 112,000 miles. I picked it up basically for nothing It has a salvaged title and has been sitting for quiet some time at a friends garage. I am an engineer and I've been working on cars and bikes since I could turn a wrench, so I know a little about what I'm doing. Glad to meet everyone here and I hope to have some fun getting my XJ built. Ill try to post pictures when I have chances too.

Since I cant make a new thread yet, I'll put this here and see what happens. I have searched the forum and cannot find anything that matches any of my problems, if you know where I can find them please point me in the right direction.

Problem 1: When I start the engine (warm or cold start doesn't matter) when I try to shift from park to reverse the transmission grinds and does not take gear. If I put it back in park shut the engine off, wait about 10 seconds, restart, wait for the RPM's to drop under 1000rpm it will go into reverse without grinding. It will take any other gear anytime without grinding it only has this problem in reverse. (I'm thinking pump or solenoid)

Problem 2: There is a loud clunking sound coming from the rear end, when turning and when going over bumps in the road. I have checked everything I can for looseness. I have found that when i grab the back tire (it will do this on both sides) hands at 3 and 9 and shake in a push pull method it will make the clunking noise. It feels like the entire rear end is loose. (there is no spare tire and all heat shrouds have been checked for looseness) It is a deep heavy clunk sound.

Last edited by commandersmoky; 10-22-2017 at 02:14 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement