Own a Commander?: Yes
Model year: 2006
Trim Package: Limited
Power-Train: 5.7L V-8 Hemi
4WD
If 4WD - system: QD-II
Current Mileage: 162,456
2007 Commander

Hi fellas, I’m new to the commander and never owned a Jeep before. I was intrigued watching a YouTube video with QD2 and went on a mission to find a 3rd row wheeler from Jeep. Unfortunately, I’ve had a few hiccups that hopefully are normal or easily fixed. I tried my best to purchase a mall crawler to minimize the chance of buying a trail rig.

I’m new to the Hemi engine, sound, pattern, and passing power. My 5.6 Armada feels a lot more powerful, but I thought the higher tq of the hemi may be masking the difference ? Around 2-3k rpm it sounds funny while under a load. (No knocks or smoke) I had the differential and transfer case drained and fluids looked perfect. I notice every once in a while the transmission holds 4th gear a little longer than anticipated but it always upshifts to 5th smoothly during those times.(fluid looks good and doesn’t smell cooked) I took it on a 10 mile test drive with the air conditioning and radio off, but for some reason these symptoms didn’t exist. I also found a loading ramp to test the awd and everything engage without any noticeable issues.

Today while taking the whole family to the zoo it seemed to either bog/misfire for the first time and multiple lights came on the dash including service 4wd. I immediately cancelled cruise control and coasted for a few hundred ft and everything went back to normal. No dash lights, no warnings, and no bog.

Hopefully, the issue above are easily remedy so I can start modifying. 2” lift , rubicon wheels, jab upper arms, and 1.5 hub centric spacers are on the order list once I make sure I didn’t stumble upon a lemon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 09:34 PM
Super Moderator
Points: 20,980, Level: 91 Points: 20,980, Level: 91 Points: 20,980, Level: 91
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%