Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi fellas, I’m new to the commander and never owned a Jeep before. I was intrigued watching a YouTube video with QD2 and went on a mission to find a 3rd row wheeler from Jeep. Unfortunately, I’ve had a few hiccups that hopefully are normal or easily fixed. I tried my best to purchase a mall crawler to minimize the chance of buying a trail rig.

I’m new to the Hemi engine, sound, pattern, and passing power. My 5.6 Armada feels a lot more powerful, but I thought the higher tq of the hemi may be masking the difference ? Around 2-3k rpm it sounds funny while under a load. (No knocks or smoke) I had the differential and transfer case drained and fluids looked perfect. I notice every once in a while the transmission holds 4th gear a little longer than anticipated but it always upshifts to 5th smoothly during those times.(fluid looks good and doesn’t smell cooked) I took it on a 10 mile test drive with the air conditioning and radio off, but for some reason these symptoms didn’t exist. I also found a loading ramp to test the awd and everything engage without any noticeable issues.

Today while taking the whole family to the zoo it seemed to either bog/misfire for the first time and multiple lights came on the dash including service 4wd. I immediately cancelled cruise control and coasted for a few hundred ft and everything went back to normal. No dash lights, no warnings, and no bog.

Hopefully, the issue above are easily remedy so I can start modifying. 2” lift , rubicon wheels, jab upper arms, and 1.5 hub centric spacers are on the order list once I make sure I didn’t stumble upon a lemon.

·
Registered
86 Posts