Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK guys...I know I'm a newbie and this is ANOTHER spark plug thread, but I've done my diligence and can't find any info on this:

This past Saturday, in preparation of changing my plugs for the first time (and first time for me in YEARS) I took off Air Cleaner on my 2010 3.7 V6, and located 3 Spark Plug coils on the Drivers side...but DID NOT see any on Passenger side.

All writeups, and the couple of youtube videos for the Powertech V6 ALL reference 1 coil per plug, but I'm not seeing it. I do believe there is a Plug wire going from the coil(s) on the drivers side to the corresponding plug on the Passenger Side, but that is all I see.

Could someone confirm this is right? Also if it is, whats the best way to "pull" the plug wire from the passenger side...it doesn't appear too strong and its in there real tight.

Thanks in advance....
Jerrwood

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
100+ looks and no comments? C'mon guys your killing me, I need help!...lol

·
Registered
389 Posts
If I knew, I would help. Spark plugs I have yet to touch on mine, but I probably need to. Hopefully someone else can chime in!

·
Premium Member
674 Posts
From the service manual - sorry no pictures.
The 3.7L uses separate ignition coils for each cylinder. The one-piece coil bolts directly to the cylinder head. Rubber boots seal the secondary terminal ends of the coils to the top of all 6 spark plugs. A separate electrical connector is used for each coil.
Because of coil design, spark plug cables (secondary cables) and a distributor are not used.
Two knock sensors (one for each cylinder bank) are used to help control spark knock.
The Auto Shutdown (ASD) relay provides battery voltage to each ignition coil.
The ignition system consists of:
² 6 Spark Plugs
² 6 Separate Ignition Coils
² 2 Knock Sensors
² Powertrain Control Module (PCM

·
Registered
556 Posts