Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Does anyone know if there are any aftermarket tubes that would allow you to use the factory airbox? I'd like to open things up a bit, but I don't want it to get too loud. I saw True Flow sells kits like that (air filter + tube) but not for the Commander.

·
Premium Member
6,309 Posts
I hate to hyjack someone's thread but those 4.7 liter intakes that you guys are refering to, do they also work on the 4.7 flex fuel engines. I obviously dont know if there really is a big difference between the flex fuel and regular 4.7 liter.... i'm new to the jeep thing!

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
07JeepXK said:
I hate to hyjack someone's thread but those 4.7 liter intakes that you guys are refering to, do they also work on the 4.7 flex fuel engines. I obviously dont know if there really is a big difference between the flex fuel and regular 4.7 liter.... i new to the jeep thing!

Yes I believe they would work with the Flex Fuel model.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Have the K&N Cold Air kit on the 4.7 motor. Gained about 2 mpg and the pick up and torque has been a big difference from stock.

·
Registered
526 Posts
Does the cold air have a whistle to it? I know it sounds weird but my Acura Cl was so restricted by the stock air box that when I was at lower RPMS there was a whistle from the AEM Intake until the rpms picked up and it gave the V6 a huge deep sound. I gained 14 hp on the Dyno with a full intake(which was huge for that little car) and a low gain in torque.