Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My XK: 5.7L limited, QDII.

Took it to a Valvoline "Express Care" to get diffential fluid and oil changed. They told me that their 75w-140 gear oil already had friction modifier additive IN it.

From what I've been reading, this is incorrect. 1300 miles later, am I screwed? Car seems to drive fine, though I've been noticing more "road noise" on the highway, which, until now, I was attributing to new tires (that I had installed at the same time)-- now I'm thinking this noise is caused by the differentials lacking the friction modifier additive.

Total noob move. :(

·
Registered
862 Posts
I doubt the stuff is in it, but you never know. Go back to the place, demand to see a bottle of the stuff, and read the label. If it isn't in it, they owe you a diff rebuild.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I doubt the stuff is in it, but you never know. Go back to the place, demand to see a bottle of the stuff, and read the label. If it isn't in it, they owe you a diff rebuild.
Errr. Maybe I'm over-reacting here. Here's the product info for the gear oil:
http://www.valvoline.com/pdf/SynPower_Gear_Oils.pdf

"The addition of a supplemental friction modifier(Ford M2C-118-A, Chrysler MS-5630, or GM 1052358) is not required."

·
Registered
862 Posts
Well... whadda know. I'll have to get that next time instead of paying the dealer thru the nose for special little bottles of (grossly overpriced) Mopar stuff.

·
Premium Member
141 Posts
You can get friction modifiers (limited slip additive) from parts stores for like $5. If your not sure, put another tube in with the gear oil.