Jeep Commander Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Limited 4.7 Quadra-Trac II
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a freshman in college majoring in mechanical engineering. I have a 2006 XK with a 2 inch lift. I bought bilstein 5100s for the car and quickly realized the lowest setting was +.75 inches. I have not installed the front shocks in because I am too scared of what may happen to the front end components. But this leads me to my idea. I want to build a shorter lift spacer to compensate for the bilsteins added height. So instead of being at 2.75 inches, I would be sitting at 2 or maybe 2.25 inches WITH the bilsteins installed paired with the spacer. Does this seem like a good idea? I have access to plenty of 3D modeling softwares and HAAS machines. Does anyone think this could be a solution for those who want to run bilsteins AND a lift spacer? I want to exhaust all ideas before I settle on the fact that I wasted the money on those shocks.

·
Registered
9 Posts
You can engineer anything you want. You will run into some upper strut mount stud clearance issues or upper strut mount thread length issues, but they can be overcome. You can solve this by knocking the studs out and getting longer ones since you will have them apart anyways. Hell, machine you a solid aluminum spacer with longer upper strut mount studs and your done. If you are over 21.5” hub center to fender grab a diff drop kit to correct CV axles.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Don't the spring perches adjust higher on the 5100s? Why do you need front spacers at all?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Don't the spring perches adjust higher on the 5100s? Why do you need front spacers at all?
The highest setting is 2 inches on the shocks, but I talked to a guy who just had the bilsteins set at 2 inches and no spacer. He said the shocks don’t raise the front a full 2 inches like the spacer does

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·