Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to four wheeling and have a couple questions. I have the 5.7 HEMI 4x4 and want to take it off road. I don't plan on taking it on any extreme trails but I want to know if my jeep can handle it as is or do I need to add better tires or equipment?

·
Premium Member
2,262 Posts
It can handle it. But first you need to remove that lower plastic piece under the front bumper. Also, after you go off-roading, you will probably be tempted to lift it up and get some bigger tires, but its not required. Go have fun! Your Commander will take you wherever you want to go!

·
Registered
401 Posts
There are some good trails in GW national forrest out at the end of I-66 that the Commander will handle just fine. Have fun!

·
Registered
487 Posts
It can handle it. But first you need to remove that lower plastic piece under the front bumper. Also, after you go off-roading, you will probably be tempted to lift it up and get some bigger tires, but its not required. Go have fun! Your Commander will take you wherever you want to go!
I havent had to remove the plastic trim bit yet and have taken the jeep to some fairly testing places.

maybe the diesel version sits slightly higher?

and yes it can handle it, it was designed to go off road.

as polar says ,you will be tempted to lift it and mod it, you must resist the force though. :)

·
Premium Member
2,629 Posts
I agree with everyone else, the XK is great off-road and don't let the word "stock" scare you because they are the most capable vehicle I have ever driven off-road right off the dealer lot. However, if you do not have any off-road experience then you may want to take it easy at first and work up to more difficult stuff.

·
Premium Member
2,629 Posts