Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Recently I started to notice a whining sound from the front diff at 45 to 50 MPH speeds, only comes when slightly give it some gas and disappears when letting it off. ,, also disappears quickly after 50 MPH!

Any one faced this problem and got it fixed?

I hope its not a major problem in the diff that might require a rebuild or a whole axle change !

Tomorrow I'm planing to change the oil (just on time, around 17k miles from last change) ,, I'm thinking to open the front cover after draining the oil to look for any clues, .. I'm not experienced mechanically so I would like to get your advices about things to look for or test inside the diff to isolate the problem.

Current mileage : 65k miles
Quadra-Drive II

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
Are you sure the sound is new Ahmed?...I know, weird question, but I always ask.
For example, " I never noticed it till I put tires on it " Meaning, the thing is so quiet now I hear a whine at speeds from 50 to 53 MPH.
It is not uncommon for a ring and pinion to have a slight harmonic at certain speeds.
If it was a bearing problem, I would expect it at all times while loaded or all times at coast.

Of course, I'm at a disadvantage at this distance, ha.
Regarding draining, obviously catch the oil but then, strain it through a cheesecloth....see what you get.
Very fine filings, like the metallic in paint is normal......fluid that looks like a metallic paint before you spray it is not normal.
But there will always be some metallic evidence of shearing......means nothing.

I won't recommend removing the cover unless the oil is looking like metallic paint......but at that point, you probably would remove the whole front diff for bench disassembly and diagnostics.

Rob

·
Registered
3,037 Posts