Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first post...I'm replacing both front wheel hubs on my '06 Commander - 65th anniv. ed.. I have caliper, axle nut, and hub bolts removed from steering knuckle, but she still won't budge...do I use a puller, pound it or burn it off ? I've been dousing it with PB Blaster in the meantime...any help would be greatly appreciated....Thanks

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on this site... have an '06 Commander 65th anniv. ed. w. 86,000 mi. ...replacing both front wheel hubs. Calipers, axle nut and hub bolts are removed, should I use a puller to free hub ? Any help would be greatly appreciated...

·
Registered
1,124 Posts
Hi Airman, welcome to the forum!!! We can probably help you a little more if you can explain your situation but, nevertheless, I guess a good tap should set them free. I'm sure some of the senior members will chime in soon. Good luck!!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you,powerslave! Both front hubs are shot - crazy noisy- dealer said this is normal wear and tear (what?), anyway, I got a sweet deal on a new set of replacements from Timken, And now I can't get the old hubs off...been dousing 'em with PB Blaster, pounding on 'em cursing them, and cajoling them....I rigged up a puller, but the threaded axle bolt recedes into the boot...I don't want to damage the tone wheel, so I held off on that approach...I'm also nervous about applying heat, for fear of damaging bearing seals,etc., The dissimilar metals (cast steering knuckle - steel hub assembly)have galvanized, and pounding has separated one side about 1/16th of an inch...and that's as far as I got...

·
Registered
1,124 Posts