Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered a glasspack from summit cause my stock muffler had a hole punched in it. Has anyone done this? does it sound good? let me know please.

·
Super Moderator
14,914 Posts
I ordered a glasspack from summit cause my stock muffler had a hole punched in it. Has anyone done this? does it sound good? let me know please.
If you have already ordered it, it's kinda' late to be asking don't you think ? I would think a glasspack will be rather loud.

·
Registered
167 Posts
I've not heard it or seen it in searches.

I do think it would be quite loud. Depends on preference, though. I think it would be louder than I prefer.

I have a Flowmaster Super 50. Nice "presence" of volume, but not too loud for my tastes.

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
A glass pack is usually just a straight perforated pipe with fiberglass wrapped around it, it allows some expansion and noise absorption, but its almost more of a resonator than a muffler, it barely does anything to reduce the noise level.

The Catalytic Converters do a lot to muffle the sound of the exhaust, but still a glass pack is going to be loud, NOT as loud as 60's/70's muscle cars that had straight pipes all the way through. But perhaps loud enough to annoy neighbors and get you ticket from cops in some areas.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for all the input. Got it yesterday and installed it today. sounds pretty good. somewhat noticeable sound inside. will post video soon. I fired it up dumping at the cats and it had a pretty rough sound. put the glasspack on and it cleaned it up alot but with the same sound

·
Registered
167 Posts
Glad you like it! Look forward to the video. The Commander needs a bit more presence of sound so it doesn't come across as another "grocery getter".

·
Registered
3,037 Posts