Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I installed my set of hella 500ff lights I bought. I did all the wiring just as specified and installed the switch in the wallet compartment to the lower left of the steering wheel. to my dismay when I turned my XK after the install and tried to turn on the lights they wouldn't turn on. I think it may be where I spliced into for the high beams. I spliced into the black wire located directly behind the light as the instructions told me to. i'm wondering if this was the right place and I hope i didn't do it for nothing. anyone else done a similar install? any advice for trouble shooting? sorry if this is a noob question i've never done wiring before...:icon_confused:

some details that may be helpful:

-i grounded the lamps near the hood latch
-i tried to see if the switch was upside down and tried both variations of wiring from the switch

if i can i'll try to post pics tomorrow to give anyone a better idea of whats going on.

thanks again

·
Registered
696 Posts
I wouldnt have spliced into high beams. I wouldve just simply ran them to the switch. The law says they need to be off when high beams are on but when you have your high beams on who is around to see that your fog lights are off.

Try to work backwards and just double check everything. All the positive is positive and negative negative and nothing is crossed. Then double, TRIPLE, check the switch.

·
1,993 Posts