Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, its been quite some time...
Long enought that I need to replance at least the brake pads if not the rotors to be safe. However I am a novice at mechanical work and don't want to get in too far over my head. I have searched for a "How to" on such an installation through the site and haven't come up with anything...I have never changed brake pads before always had the mechanic do it. What is there to watch out for?

·
1,993 Posts
Its pretty straight forward thing to do. Pull of the old ones and slap in the new ones. Just make sure you have the correct tool to push the caliper piston back in not sure witch one the XK takes my ford took a special tool available for loan at most parts stores as well as the lube packs to grease the slides.

·
Super Moderator
15,092 Posts
Hello, its been quite some time...
Long enought that I need to replance at least the brake pads if not the rotors to be safe. However I am a novice at mechanical work and don't want to get in too far over my head. I have searched for a "How to" on such an installation through the site and haven't come up with anything...I have never changed brake pads before always had the mechanic do it. What is there to watch out for?
See this thread---> http://www.jeepcommander.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12961&highlight=brakes

·
Premium Member
691 Posts
Here is what my special tool looks like. Any Good C-clamp should work. Just leave the old pad on to compress the piston then remove the pad when compressed.

like this pic. Just go slow when compressing.

·
Super Moderator
15,092 Posts
Here is what my special tool looks like. Any Good C-clamp should work. Just leave the old pad on to compress the piston then remove the pad when compressed.

Is the silverfish optional ?

·
Registered
338 Posts

Your special tool looks just like my special tool....... and I never found a vehicle it wouldn't work on.

·
Premium Member