Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
There's another member here, SkullHunter, who did a swap as well. Interested to see how your builds compare!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I swapped in everything that makes a SRT, not just the engine, to include transmisssion, transfer case, differentials, all suspension, brakes, interior components, etc. It also uses the factory SRT computers so no tuners. This truly is an SRT with a Commander body.

Attachments

·
Registered
336 Posts
Nice man. How long did the process take? How much $$ did you pour into it (if you don’t mind me asking)? Are you satisfied with it? And videos on the build?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry, no videos. It only took about 70 hours. I should mention I'm a mechanic by trade and had a lift. It really is fairly straight forward if you have a donor. I bought a rolled over one at a salvage auction. With that and purchasing some things that weren't useable, I have about $7k into it. That's not counting my labor of course. It definitely made it much easier starting with the right Commander donor however.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
5,710 Posts
Sorry, no videos. It only took about 70 hours. I should mention I'm a mechanic by trade and had a lift. It really is fairly straight forward if you have a donor. I bought a rolled over one at a salvage auction. With that and purchasing some things that weren't useable, I have about $7k into it. That's not counting my labor of course. It definitely made it much easier starting with the right Commander donor however.
That makes all the difference right there having the shop, the tools, the proper equipment & knowledge to do the work.

For your average joe that does not have any of those things, that swap is easily an $11K - $12K job.

Looks like you did a hell of a job, nice work.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #8