Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ive been driving jeeps for about 20 years now...Just bought a 2007 Commander.. Ive already got a bunch of questions:crying::laugh2:
When I bought it I was told it needed a new axle bearing turns out the front dif is shot. I don't have the time, place or knowledge to do a rebuild. My mechanic, a guy I trust is suggesting I get a used front Axle assembly and bolt it in. I'm trying to figure out the compatibility with other jeeps. What years for the Commander are interchangeable ? How about Grand Cherokee ? and is having the Hemi going to limit my options? I've been to the dealer and looked around on the internet but haven't been able to answer these questions. I appreciate any thoughts on this, want to get this sorted and not get sour on my new jeep.

·
Super Moderator
5,909 Posts
Ive been driving jeeps for about 20 years now...Just bought a 2007 Commander.. Ive already got a bunch of questions:crying::laugh2:
When I bought it I was told it needed a new axle bearing turns out the front dif is shot. I don't have the time, place or knowledge to do a rebuild. My mechanic, a guy I trust is suggesting I get a used front Axle assembly and bolt it in. I'm trying to figure out the compatibility with other jeeps. What years for the Commander are interchangeable ? How about Grand Cherokee ? and is having the Hemi going to limit my options? I've been to the dealer and looked around on the internet but haven't been able to answer these questions. I appreciate any thoughts on this, want to get this sorted and not get sour on my new jeep.
Welcome to the forum @monkshouse9 ;