Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A while back I contacted K&N to see if they had a CAI for the 2006 Commander 3.7L, At that time they said no, I had a friend who put one on his 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.7L. I went over to his house and checked it out, guess what, it looked like the engine compartment for my 06 commander. I contacted K&N about this and they said it wouldn't work duhhh. They put me on the mailing list and a few days later they sent a e-mail telling me that they came out with a NEW kit for the 06 Commander!
Part#: 63-1545 (same as the 06 Grand Cherokee!!!).

I called around to check out pricing for the kit, $268.00! I remebered I had a freind who works for Autozone, I called him and I asked if he could give me some kind of a discount, he said no problem all autozone employees get a 20% discount, I got the kit for $228.00!

Today I installed the kit, I took my time (smoke breaks, etc..) It went on like a champ!! The instructions that came with kit where well laid out and all the parts are numbered, Just match up the part numbers with the install pictures. I took it for a spin and it does have a bigger pick up.

Now what I don't understand is how is disconnecting the postive side of the battery and holding the start key on start for 60 seconds and leaving if off (postive cable) for about 30 minutes is going to reset the computer? I'm having a hard time understanding this. Could someone enlighten me on this.

Sorry for the long letter, Hope it helps someone out......

2006 Jeep Commander
3.7L Engine
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
707 Posts
It is nice to see another V6 owner.

I bought the kit too for my 3.7L, but have not installed it yet. Did you see any decent improvements in your mpg's? I mainly bought it for power, but gas price is so pricey.

However, I do not understand how you reset the computer. Sorry
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,797 Posts
Basically what you are doing is clearing the shifting points of the transmission. (It learns your driving style and sets the shift points accordingly) And if I remember right the computer resets the ignition timing to the now modified air fuel mixture. At least that is how I understand it. There are several posts on this in here.

There is a mild improvement but I wouldn't hang my fuel budget on it. I gained better mileage from putting a magnaflow muffler in than the CAI
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
To bob123: As far as gas mileage I doubt that I will get much (maybe 1 more mpg) I have a heavy foot!! As it stands now I get about 14 mpg in town, mostly going back and fourth to work and on the interstate I get about 17mpg. When the boss drives it she gets about 17 in town and on the interstate about 20 mpg. Like everybody else I got it for more power. I hear getting rid of the 50 gal drum muffler (oem) and Installing the Magaflow is the way to go, Thats my next project.

Thanks for clearing up why its best to reset the computer, Its seems to make sense the way AKFossil has explained it. I see AKFossil has installed the window Vents, I got the Weather Tech's and I love them!!! I like the way they go into the window channels instead of using tape to hold them on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just a update, as you have already read I did indeed install the K&N CAI Kit for my 2006 JC 3.7L I took notes on this project, before the install I was getting about 13.4 mpg in town (according to the on board computer display). I installed the kit and disconnected the postive side of the battery and turned the ignition key to start and held it their for about 60 secs and release it and left it that way (battery disconnected) for about an hour.

I went from 13.4 mpg in town to 14.6 in town. Now I got to thinking I should be getting better gas mileage than this. So I went back to the CAI filter (cold air intake) and traced the route of the airflow. From the filter up to the black box mounted on the throttle body (sorry dont know what its really called) all was well, the airflow path was nice and smooth, I then decided to inspect the black box!

I took off the black Box and looked inside of it, I got my flashlight (It was cold and dark and scary in thier) and I noticed slots (on both sides of the airflow path) inside of the box along the airway path! I took a small metal rod and pushed it though the slots to see if it went all the way though, and of course the rod went all the way though slots. Bingo I found a airway problem!!! Seems air was being suck in and going though those damn slots maybe causing airflow problems!!

I keep looking at the inside of that damn box for about 30mins deciding what would be the best way to block the damn slots, then it hit me, A/C Heating sealing tape!!! I remebered see a Mike Homles on homes program and they were using the tape on the homes a/c heating duct work,its silver on one side and super sticky on the other side and its SUPER thin!!! I got the same tape from a friend of mine who is a a/c heating tech and I used that on some of my duct work. Its super sticky and its made for the cold/hot air in the duct work.

I got the box and removed the airflow sensor (more room for my hand) and cut two strips of tape and made sure they over lapped at each end of the box openings. So far so good, I removed the paper off the sticky side and began to apply the tape over the open slots, Working like champ!!! I then pushed the over lapped ends of the tape down the other side of the box openings (this way if the tape came loose it wouldn't be sucked down the damn thottle body opening).

It finally warmed up here and I got on the interstate to warm up the engine and them came home and put the JC into my garage and let it set for about 30mins or so. I opened up the hood and felt the box black, BOY was it nice and hot!!! I let the JC set for a whie longer. Now the moment of truth was the tape still sticking or did it come loose? I took off the box and looked inside, It was still their covering the slots!!!! I jumped up and down with delight (until the boss heard the nosie I was making and asked what I was doing, of course I told her I hurt my hand and she then left!!). After about two weeks now the tape is holdin up like a champ!!!! My mileage went from 13.4 to 16mpg!!! and that in town driving and my heavy foot!! Remember if you do this don't use the home GRAY DUCT TAPE!!!!

The black box takes about 3mins of yer time to take off and to check the tape, To date its working like a champ!!! Hope this mod helps out someone. If you find a better way to cover the slots please let me know!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Re 2006 JC CAI

Just a update, as you have already read I did indeed install the K&N CAI Kit for my 2006 XK 3.7L I took notes on this project, before the install I was getting about 13.4 mpg in town (according to the on board computer display). I installed the kit and disconnected the postive side of the battery and turned the ignition key to start and held it their for about 60 secs and release it and left it that way (battery disconnected) for about an hour.

I went from 13.4 mpg in town to 14.6 in town. Now I got to thinking I should be getting better gas mileage than this. So I went back to the CAI filter (cold air intake) and traced the route of the airflow. From the filter up to the black box mounted on the throttle body (sorry dont know what its really called) all was well, the airflow path was nice and smooth, I then decided to inspect the black box!

I took off the black Box and looked inside of it, I got my flashlight (It was cold and dark and scary in thier) and I noticed slots (on both sides of the airflow path) inside of the box along the airway path! I took a small metal rod and pushed it though the slots to see if it went all the way though, and of course the rod went all the way though slots. Bingo I found a airway problem!!! Seems air was being suck in and going though those damn slots maybe causing airflow problems!!

I keep looking at the inside of that damn box for about 30mins deciding what would be the best way to block the damn slots, then it hit me, A/C Heating sealing tape!!! I remebered see a Mike Homles on homes program and they were using the tape on the homes a/c heating duct work,its silver on one side and super sticky on the other side and its SUPER thin!!! I got the same tape from a friend of mine who is a a/c heating tech and I used that on some of my duct work. Its super sticky and its made for the cold/hot air in the duct work.

I got the box and removed the airflow sensor (more room for my hand) and cut two strips of tape and made sure they over lapped at each end of the box openings. So far so good, I removed the paper off the sticky side and began to apply the tape over the open slots, Working like champ!!! I then pushed the over lapped ends of the tape down the other side of the box openings (this way if the tape came loose it wouldn't be sucked down the damn thottle body opening).

It finally warmed up here and I got on the interstate to warm up the engine and them came home and put the JC into my garage and let it set for about 30mins or so. I opened up the hood and felt the box black, BOY was it nice and hot!!! I let the JC set for a whie longer. Now the moment of truth was the tape still sticking or did it come loose? I took off the box and looked inside, It was still their covering the slots!!!! I jumped up and down with delight (until the boss heard the nosie I was making and asked what I was doing, of course I told her I hurt my hand and she then left!!). After about two weeks now the tape is holdin up like a champ!!!! My mileage went from 13.4 to 16mpg!!! and that in town driving and my heavy foot!! Remember if you do this don't use the GRAY DUCT TAPE!!!!

The black box takes about 3mins of yer time to take off and to check the tape, To date its working like a champ!!! Hope this mod helps out someone. If you find a better way to cover the slots please let me know!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
707 Posts
Wow, I never knew that the box caused some air flow problems. I know that the 4.7 engine kit tells you to take the box completely off. I guess their engine configuration is different than the 3.7.

http://www.kandn.com/instructions/63-1548.pdf

step 20b calls the box an intake plenum.

Can you hear the engine more and at what rpms if you do?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,337 Posts
The box (or intake plenum) is a noise resonator. It acts like a muffler for the intake system so that you don't hear the vacuum noise from the intake as you open or close the throttle plate. My AFE unit keeps this piece in place since its where the mass airflow sensor is located; you have to relocate it when using the K&N.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well I always wondered what that thing was called (intake plenum) thanks for the info.

For bob123 the only difference's I see in the two CAI systems is that on the 3.7L install you don't take off the intake plenum (thanks again rwmorrisonjr) and on the 4.7L they run the air intake tube right up to the throttle body!!! wish my install was like that!!! Thanks for yer pdf file I see what they did. Thanks for the input guys.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Sorry didn't answer bob123 last question (Can you hear the engine more and at what rpms if you do?). If I get on it you can hear the engine a little more (sound awsome though) and as for the rpm's I don't notice much difference, but I will keep a eye on that and if their is any big difference I will let ya know......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
Sorry been away for awhile, Pictures you want pictures hummm........Let me see what I can do. To date the K&N CAI is working like a champ!!! and the tape is still holding up as well. Will post pictures this week end...... Sorry this has taken me sooo long to post my pictures, My brother had a mild stroke and my mind wasn't into taken any pictures. He is OK, however he scared 10yrs off my life which I don't have!!!!! Thanks for putting up with me....

Pictures, You should be able to just click the url's, if not just copy and paste....

http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/rovr7axhkxgt9u3nai.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/rbxi6ywdu8grng9e1w82.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/6reajmg78g0nhprk5fj.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/zu5wvfzyjq3fyz125sc2.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/i73csthgabfw4ne00qk.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/kvlk7pxef52tuuwogrsw.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/fb3dn63qvpesabqpnu4r.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/0ntvsi4y0yqnv805jwk9.jpg
http://www.pics-hosting.com/files/21wpuqqou9ok7a2bp7rh.jpg

Any question just post them here and I will try and get back to ya!
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,248 Posts
I do remember that when I installed the K&N CAI that I had a lot of black plastic to throw away. About half a trash can full. This was for an 07 4.7. The cleanup of all that plastic opened up the view of the engine.
 

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,936 Posts
HueyPilotVN said:
I do remember that when I installed the K&N CAI that I had a lot of black plastic to throw away. About half a trash can full. This was for an 07 4.7. The cleanup of all that plastic opened up the view of the engine.
...............
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
All this talk about CAI systems makes me wanna get one! I also have the 3.7L v6. However unlike most people on this forum i really dont think i would be able to put it in myself. Does anybody think a newbie with mechanical stuff be able to put this in himself? I'm just wondering cause somebody said if they knew how to change their tire they would know how to put this in. I DO know how to change my tire but im still a little skeptical, just dont wanna screw anything up on my baby.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
688 Posts
I installed this one on my V6, and it's not difficult at all in terms of the procedure. There are a few inconveniently-placed bolts holding the stock filter box in place. But if you make sure you've got all the right tools before you start and take your time, you'll have no problems with it.

You can find the installation instructions on the K&N site, if you'd like to review beforehand.

http://www.knfilters.com/search/product.aspx?Prod=63-1545
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,248 Posts
It was not hard to do at all. Just follow the instructions. The hardest part was getting the air sensor to fit into the new tube. It is a tight fit and needed a little lube to fit into the fitting. I seem to remember that you needed to turn it so that it could measure the air flow correctly on the 4.7 anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
456 Posts
OK... now Ive gotta take that plenum appart to see what the hell your talking about... With the CIA - Could you use a 4.7 CIA on a 3.7 if you took off the plenum? ...maybe with a little work?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,936 Posts
Command This. said:
OK... now Ive gotta take that plenum appart to see what the hell your talking about... With the CIA - Could you use a 4.7 CIA on a 3.7 if you took off the plenum? ...maybe with a little work?
Don't know how much help the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) will be.
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top