Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anybody of you using the K&N/Mopar Cold Air Intake have any problems driving in the rain or shallow puddles?

Any chance of water getting to the Air Filter after the OEM Air Box is removed?

I have the Mopar CAI and Borla Cat Back Exhaust that I installed myself...I am a novice but can give you tips and lessons learned if you need one.:)

·
Registered
379 Posts
I just installed the AEM CAI and was wondering the same about it. Seems pretty open to the front of the car and down below. I imagine driving through a stream might have some challenges for the configuration too. Any experience out there?

·
Registered
161 Posts
jeepney1 said:
Does anybody of you using the K&N/Mopar Cold Air Intake have any problems driving in the rain or shallow puddles?

I have the Mopar CAI and Borla Cat Back Exhaust that I installed myself...I am a novice but can give you tips and lessons learned if you need one.:)
I have both Mopar CAI and Borla on my Commander... No problems at all

·
Registered
184 Posts
I was wondering about the 3" gap that remains between the front hood seal and the side wall (See picture). Right now I have the stock OEM box installed and I see that it has some salt and or car wash soap residue all over the front and top of the OEM filter box. The only place I see that it is entering is through that gap. Since the most of the CAI mods have this similar style replacement housing, wouldn't it be prone to sucking in rain and high pressure spray from a car wash through that gap? Like I said it is obviously getting there already onto the OEM box.

I think I may need to add an extended seal along the front.

This photo is not my Jeep, this is from the Airaid site, I just used it to show what I was talking about.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hemi05WJ said:
I have both Mopar CAI and Borla on my Commander... No problems at all