Jeep Commander Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,
Has anyone with a lift kit experienced any vibrations in the 70 mph range? Ours came from the dealer with the 2" rancho kit and it has been back 3 times now with no success on fixing the vibration. Finally today when we picked it up our salesman rode with me. Got to 70mph and I looked at him and all he said was "Thats not right." So far the service department has balanced the tires three times but this is getting old. I think it may be the tires or wheels but has anyone else experienced this?

·
Registered
110 Posts
I have no experience w/ the Rancho kit, but my dealer uses "Rusty's" and has quite a few under the belt. They are a fairly large operation that is heavily involved in the 4x4 community and are highly regarded.

They completely re-align and balance everything as part of this lift. I think the standard job for a 2" (some call it 2 1/2") Commander lift is 4 hours per the kit manufacturers I'm familiar with. This dealer has it as a 10 hour job due to the additional work. Those they've done ride as smooth as the tires allow. With factory Forteras, you cannot tell the difference.

As a side note, I'm begining to think that a 2" lift may not be worth the effort. This lift will give you practically no value off-road other than looks. It will lift the body a bit more above your suspension but it does nothing for clearance of your suspension, differential, etc. Using a taller tire is the only way to increase this clearance and a lift is only good if needed to install a taller tire. On this lift the Commander is only good for a tire about two sizes up before you run into clearance issues. You can just about run those same tires w/out the lift. Using anything taller runs into other issues w/ the steering knuckle, the routing of the a/c lines, etc. For this tall of a tire you should use the AEV 4" lift which is more radical.