Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hi , new member here. I'm a painting contractor with 7 years left until retirement. I've been driving a 2003 Chevy Express cargo van for the past 11 years. It's been a decent vehicle but it's rusting away. This time I want to go with an SUV type car and yesterday as I drove past my Mechanics shop I saw a 2006 Commander he has out front for sale. It's a 6 cylinder , 4x4 in very good condition. 120,000 miles. Price is $6500.00 Also I live in Maine so i want something that is good in the snow, my van is not.

I took it for a test drive , very smooth ride both at city speeds and up to 85 mph on the highway. I really liked it. My only hesitation is some of the complaints I've been reading online. It's does seem that the most common complaints:

1. Engine shutting off, or not starting at all.
2. Transmission not shifting correctly or staying in first gear.

From what I've read online it seems these can be attributed to electrical or computer software issues that are now corrected.
I'd like to hear from other owners before I make my final decision. I think this will make a nice work truck , plenty of room if i fold down the rear seats and I've looked into roof racks for longer ladders if necessary. Most of my work is interior now so I'm no longer moving a lot of big ladders.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
674 Posts
I have a 06 and have had no big or intermittent problems so what you read are probably more the exception. Since you want something good in the snow find out if it has 4 wheel drive, some do not have. Also there were 3 types of 4 WD - Quadra Trac I, Quadra Trac II and Quadra Drive II, If it has a "Trail Rated" badge on the drivers side front fender it should be 4WD. There is a Chrysler site where you can put in the VIN number and get a build sheet which lists everything that was in it when built new. Go here and then click on "Equipment listing" https://www.jeep.com/webselfservice/jeep/index.html