Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I did a lot of searching and found that I had to piece together a lot of info from many different spots, so I figured I'd just ask the question straight-out and let you experts fill me in, because I'm new to all this and frankly don't know:

What limitations am I dealing with in mod'ing a V6? I've seen a few folks say in other threads that you can't lift a V6 and what-not, and I honestly don't know why. Is there any limitations I need to know about?

I have a V6, and I'm interesting in doing (what I feel to be) some minor mods. I'd like to lift it 2-2.5", and I'd like to throw some nice shoes on it. I won't be doing any other major changes. I'd like to do (what I think to be) some light off-roading, as in... going off on some local trails and looking at the scenery and stuff, but I'm not looking to be scaling chasms or climbing my front end up trees and stuff, if you know what I mean. I can do just fine currently with my stock wheels/tires, but I just thought I'd beef it up a tad. I'm not looking to be 4-feet above everyone's heads at a stop-light or anything.

Am I limited in what I can do to my Commander since it's a V6 with the QT1 drive system?

·
Super Moderator
15,103 Posts
I'm pretty sure that you didn't read that you can not lift a V6. The size of the engine has nothing to do with a lift.

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Super Moderator
15,103 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
he was probably thinking that a v6 wouldn't be enough power for the bigger tires and gearing etc. that comes with a lift...

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Well, see, I'm glad I asked then, lol.

So me lifting this V6 a few inches and throwing slightly bigger wheels and tires on it shouldn't pose a problem then?

·
Registered
55 Posts
I have the V6 and here is what I have done:
2 in lift
1.5 in spacers
Looking for bigger tires 255/75/17 Maybe