Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
I'm a newbie here, but glad that I found this forum. I have a 2006 Commander (4.7L) with 36,540 miles. I purchased it used (35,500 mi.) and just love the vehicle. I haven't had any problems until this morning. There is absolutely no electrical power. The remote keys will not work, neither will the radio, or even a hint of light from the headlights or interior lights. Everything is dead. I drove the vehicle yesterday, and it started fine, and everything worked well, but when I left the vehicle, and locked it with the key remote, the horn or lights didn't blink, which always work. I'm thinking that it would be pretty unusual for the battery to drop dead that quickly, but will try to start it with my battery charger tomorrow. Is there anything else that I should be aware of? I'm electronically-challenged, and don't know much about modules and such, but would like to figure out why this sudden power failure. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.....Bill

·
Premium Member
2,262 Posts
Battery dead - possibly caused by something not shutting off with the sunroof. Mine did the same thing once.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response. I don't have the sunroof, but I've been looking for something that was stuck left on. I'm hoping that it is just the battery.

·
Registered
2,405 Posts
Once you get the battery charged or jump start it, look around, you might find something left on.

·
Premium Member
6,309 Posts
Maybe you have a bad alternator and its not charging the battery properly? If not that then my second guess would be just having a bad battery.

·
Premium Member
2,629 Posts