Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am in the process of putting in my 3.7l (new) out of my 05 GC into a recently purchased 06 Commander. So far I've done a complete new suspension with the Rocky Road spacer lift, new shocks, Monroe platnum quick struts, new control arms, Moog ball joints, powder coated rims matte black w ALOT of clear and HOPEFULLY 265/70/17 Goodyear Duratracts without rubbing..With my stock GC I don't have the power I want and with the added weight and larger tires on the XK I want some more HP. I don't want to go crazy but I'm definitely getting a cold air and looking for recommendations on plugs? Chips? Has anyone had any good luck with anything that they would recommend? I'm new to the thread and it seems to be the only place that someone recognizes the Commander... Any advice out there? It would be greatly appreciated!! Going to check the WTB/For sale because I'm looking for any upgrades to a 06 3.7 XK inside and out...

Thanks

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
there is not that much available.

I have a Hypertech max energy. It works, but its not a HUGE difference.

I have these plugs that work well. https://www.amazon.com/NGK-ZFR6FIX-11-Iridium-Spark-Plug/dp/B000COVMXI/ref=au_as_r?_encoding=UTF8&Make=Jeep|42&Model=Commander|2817&Year=2009|2009&ie=UTF8&n=15684181&s=automotive&vehicleId=9&vehicleType=automotive Don't expect extra HP though unless your current plugs are in bad shape. I just like the longer service life.

StrongJeff has done a lot of performance mods to his WK:

Six Shooter :: 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Stage 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Project "Six Shooter" Build Thread - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
not quite sure about the 06.. but i put a throttle body off a 4.7 on mine..cat back exhaust and headers..