Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy,
I purchased my first car about a year ago, a used 2006 Jeep Commander. She's been a great car, handled the mountains and trails of north Georgia, so I'm looking to give her back some love. I've been doing a massive amount of research on what I should get, and I've settled on a Rocky Roads 2.25 Spacer lift with rear shocks. I've poured over this forum looking at all of y'alls builds and they look great but I'm likely gonna have to keep the 255/65r17 tires already on, but I'm looking at some 265/70r17s. I'm also looking at a grille guard. Trying to stay under 1.5-2k cause I'm a student not making a steady income yet. Is a 2.25 lift worth the money for the look? Or should I focus on just making other aspects of the exterior look good? Appreciate the tons of help y'alls posts have already helped me.

Tires: https://www.discounttire.com/buy-tires/trailfinder-all-terrain/p/32707
Grille Guard: ATU for 2006 2010 Jeep Commander Grill Brush Bumper Guard Bar Black | eBay
Lift: Jeep Commander Lift Kit: 2.25" Jeep Commander Lift Kit
Pics:

Reactions: autonoob

·
Registered
74 Posts
Do the lift. Makes a huge difference! Once you see it lifted, you ask yourself why Jeep didn't offer this look as standard. Also, I went with a 2" lift and have been able to fit 265 70 17 on mine for the last 3 years now with no problems (some others might have a different experience?).

So yeah, Grill Guard, Lift and Bigger Tires should easily = < 2000$. Well worth it!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Appreciate the advice, I've changed course and I'm going with Rough Country's 2", looks better cause it levels the car and I shouldn't need new rear shocks. It's also a lot cheaper without shocks so I'm gonna definitely pick up some 265/70r17s after my lift. Once I get the grille it should look like a beast.

·
Registered
74 Posts
That's the lift kit I have.