Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!
Jamie in West Michigan here. I have been driving Jeep Cherokee Sports since 1998, on my 4th currently which is my Cherokee 2000- she is now really sad and rusty from our wonderful seasons and dirt roads. I very reluctantly just purchased the very sharp Commander. A 2007 AWD Sport edition in silver. 4.7 V8. Shes pretty sitting in the driveway, but Im still in my Cherokee. Old habits die hard ya know.

Reason for my joining this - I really REALLY want opinions from others who A-Love or B-hate the AWD... and also who has put the 'factory acceptable lift' on it to get it off the ground. I believe they say its only a 1" but its better than nothing.

As far as the AWD:

I drove my buddies Trailblazer ONE TIME for him from downtown out to the airport...it was a snowy gross day and I literally *yes, literally* spun out a dozen times. Going 4 MPH....I dont know what the heck they did to "AWD" but that scared the crap out of me!
Then just talked to a former Compass owner and she replaced it because she spun out.

Now Im beginning to FREAK OUT...snow has arrived and Im nervous!

So - give me the good and the bad about this stupid Full Time 4WD or IMO AWD BS! :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
First off, welcome to the club!

I got my first "AWD" (QTII which you have is so much more than AWD) in 2005 on a Grand Cherokee, same powertrain as yours, and it was beautiful. Drove like a tank in the snow (yeah, yeah, he's in NC he doesn't know snow... I lived in Northern VA/MD at the time). Prior to that I had a 2000 XJ with the 231 transfer case (part-time only), and only ever had one of the 242 transfer cases (full-time available). I think you'll really appreciate not having to monkey around with the 4wd shifter and enjoy how sturdy it is.

Of course tires trump the transfer case situation... make sure you're comfortable with the rubber you're putting on the road.