Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello. I recently purchased a 2009 Jeep Commander limited 4x4 with a 4.7l Magnum motor. It had 137k miles at the time of purchase.

2 issues I am having are ... the check engine light keeps coming on due to a small emissions leak caused by the aftermarket gas cap. The original gas cap did the same thing. The other issue is the TPMS stays illuminated. Other than those 2 issues, it drives great and handles off road Forest Service roads very, very well.

edited: I just read the forum introduction rules so I want to add a "little bit about me" information. My name is Steven, and I am a married father of 2 young boys (6 and 4). I graduated with a BA in English Literature from Gallaudet University - I am hard of hearing and fluent in ASL, my wife is profoundly deaf. I minored in German Communication and Communication Studies. I am a truck driver, because it pays more than teaching (which I think is a shame). I love being outdoors. I like to fish, hunt and camp. I grew up in a Gulf side town in Florida, and the picture in my Avatar is from Madeira Beach (where my family meets when we are all down there together). I love life, I love my job, I love my wife and my kids. I would not trade my life experiences for anything.

Oh yeah ... and a long, long time ago I used to be a bullrider in rodeos, and the guy who taught me how to ride bulls was/is in the 7th special forces group. Interesting stories .. I could go on and on.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I also got a 6 month bumper to bumper warranty on it. I do realize that Jeep made several service recommendations for when the Jeep reaches 150k miles. Does this need to be done by a Jeep dealer, or can they be done by a local shop?

·
Premium Member
655 Posts
On the TPMS - check the spare tire. Also at the age of your Commander if the Tire sensors are original their batteries could be bad.

·
Registered
5 Posts