Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a new Uconnect system available. I just installed the kitmyself. I am a mechanic at a Jeep Dealer in MD. The new kit comes with a smaller 2 button pad that you mount on the dash. A small mic I mounted by the homelink buttons. You get a telematics module that is identical to the factory original and you can mount it in the same location in the right kick panel. A wiring harness that you connect the pad, mic, and module to the factory radio. They book states it is only for 2007 model Commanders but I have an 06 with the REC Nav radio. It works just like factory. Caller Id and everything comes up on the screen as if it was factory original. Only difference is you dont need a mirror. I paid 237.00 for the kit. Thats my employee cost. So if you want factory uconnect get the kit. I dont have the part # handy but I will post it asap. Again, its not like the old kit. This is the same as factory with all the options!

·
Premium Member
2,337 Posts
Send us the part number, pics and availability when you can. I'd like to know if this could be integrated into the factory UConnect mirror so that you don't have to use the dash pod.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The wiring harness is made for the pod and mic. I really doubt you can integrate the factory uconnect mirror. The pod is only about 2" square and very clean looking.I will try to post pics of my install tomorrow. I also have a 10.2 inch mirror monitor so the factory mirror would have been useless to me.

·
Premium Member
12,578 Posts
It lists all 2007 Jeep products.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #8