Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total NEWB I know :icon_confused:
Ok so I have looked through the FAQ's and all that and tried calling some places but no one seems all that familiar with Commander locally and it seems like there are alot of things to consider.

I want to upgrade to 17x9 wheels with some bigger A/T tires. I am planning on a 2'' lift or Rock Krawler kit.....so how big of tires can I get without any other modifications?

·
Premium Member
6,309 Posts
With a 2 inch lift the biggest tire you will be able to fit is a 265/70R17. To fit that tire you will need to do the pinch weld modification though or else you will have rubbing at the back portion of the front fender well. Especially if you plan on running a 17x9. Make sure if you get a 17x9 that it has no less then +18 mm offset or you will regret buying them because they will stick out to far and you will have rubbing everywhere.

BTW...The Rock Krawler will only give you about 2 inches of lift. They advertise it as being 3.5 inches or something like that but members who have installed it say it doesnt give you that much.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
With a 2 inch lift the biggest tire you will be able to fit is a 265/70R17. To fit that tire you will need to do the pinch weld modification though or else you will have rubbing at the back portion of the front fender well. Especially if you plan on running a 17x9. Make sure if you get a 17x9 that it has no less then +18 mm offset or you will regret buying them because they will stick out to far and you will have rubbing everywhere.

BTW...The Rock Krawler will only give you about 2 inches of lift. They advertise it as being 3.5 inches or something like that but members who have installed it say it doesnt give you that much.
Would I be better off with a 17x8.5 then? I really don't want to have to mod anything to fit other than a 2" lift.