Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy Friends

So I'm new to offroading but the bug bit me. I purchased a Toyota RAV4 ignorant of it's offroad capabilities thinking "Hey, it's a 4x4 toyota, what could go wrong?" Well it's not a true 4x4 and while it was a great around towner, it's not an offroad vehicle. The off-road gods agreed and smited my RAV4 it this past December when I got rear ended by a very large pickup truck.

Since then I've learned a lot more so I'm looking at used Jeep Commanders and the Lexus GX460/470's. I'd love a Rubicon or a 4 runner but they're just too small. I'm a big guy, long torso, broad shoulders and the Commander is even a touch small getting in and out of with the head room.

I'm finally getting back on my feet and am car shopping for a capable and comfortable off road vehicle and the Commander has seriously caught my attention. I test drove one and would be willing to overlook the difficulty getting in and out of the vehicle because of how comfortable it drove! I've been watching a lot of YouTube and reading a lot of forums and it seems like a very capable offroad vehicle with a little aftermarket help.

I want to make sure however I make an educated choice purchasing this vehicle. So I have a ton of questions and I hope you can help.

1. Chrysler products scare the crap out of me. Consumer reports is not kind to them. What are the maintenance gremlins I need to be on the lookout for in shopping for a Commander? What impacts their reliability? Why should I do a Commander over the Lexus? Or should I go with Toyota reliability?

2. I want to make sure i have the quadra drive 2 for offroad, correct? How do I make sure the vehicle has QD2 not quadra trac? Someone mentioned in a blog post that QD2 transmissions and drivetrain requires additional maintenance but they didn't say any specifics. Does anyone know anything about that?