1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
15,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

·
Registered
1,418 Posts
I knew machinery can be very forgiving so I have not been as diligent as I should have been with oil changes, 3 months or 3000 miles. I usually go 7000 to 8000 miles between changes.

I try and get the best oil I can afford or go to the dealer most often.

·
Super Moderator
15,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I knew machinery can be very forgiving so I have not been as diligent as I should have been with oil changes, 3 months or 3000 miles. I usually go 7000 to 8000 miles between changes.

I try and get the best oil I can afford or go to the dealer most often.
7-8,000 miles between changes is OK if you are using a very high quality synthetic oil and filter. I wouldn't trust the dealer to use a high quality oil or filter.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I don't use synthetic oil. However, I have been changing oil since I was 16 years old when I worked at a Texaco station on the interstate near my home town. Oil then, and oil now has a gritty feel when drained. Nothing like the new oil that I replace it with. I still stand by the old addage, 3,000 miles.

·
Premium Member
2,337 Posts
I usually use synthetic and always a Fram filter.
Not a big fan of Fram filters, I don't think they filter nearly as well as the OEM or a Mobil1 filter. That said, I go 6k with Mobil1 5W-30 and matching Mobil1 filter, haven't had an issue yet.

·
Registered
284 Posts
I get $12.00 oilcahges w/tire rotation at the dealer. With that price I do every 3000 without question.

·
Registered
230 Posts
I don't usually pay any attention to the 3 months but I do change it every 3000 whether it takes two months or 5 to get there. I thought I read here somewhere that conventional oils are pretty much all the same so I buy whats on sale or is the best price. Usually Quaker State which is typically $10/5 qts at Walmart. I also always use OEM filter which I pick up at Wally World when I buy the oil.

·