Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am really considering this OME suspension/lift upgrade. I've heard nothing but great things about them.

I just got off the phone with my Jeep dealer. He has never heard of "OME". He has installed 2 other brand "X" lifts on 2 XK's. The guy said they sucked, and wouldn't recommend lifting the Commander. :(

Also talked to them about my warranty, and if it would VOID it. response was, "it's a grey area". it may or may not. Thats comforting!

Soo.... some questions:

1) has anyone on here had any experience with OME products?
2) is it worth the $700+ dollars?
3) has anyone shopped at desert rat in arizona, and would you recommend them?

Just needing someone to "push me" to take the plunge, and buy it.

thanks for any input!

·
Premium Member
2,337 Posts
I have no personal experience with OME, but those who've used them have been very satisfied. I've also heard that Desert Rat is very good to deal with. As for worth, that's completely up to you.

I think you're the first one here to think about the OME lift for the XK. Don't take the dealer's advice on lifts since that's not their primary business, but I can attest that I wasn't satisfied with the 2.25 Skyjacker budget boost.

Since I've been reading this thread, I'm thinking about this lift as well. I'd like to have a lift that rides better than stock and isn't just a spacer lift so that the geometry's kept close to factory specs.

·
Registered
1,935 Posts
OME = top notch products. Worth the money.

Desert Rat = great company. Bought several items off of them in the past.

And someone just posted up their OME coil spring lift over the past week. I don't know who, but if you run a search, I'm sure you'll find it.

·
Premium Member
6,309 Posts