Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What Optima yellow top to get?

Hey guys, I need a new yellow top for a sound system im putting in, what yellow top fits the commander? And does anyone know of a good place to get a deal on them is? Thanks

·
Premium Member
2,337 Posts

·
Banned
3,374 Posts
yup, lots of problems with optimas. i would pick-up something else!

luckely the Commanders come with a very nice alternator. 160 amps.(insert tim allen noises here)!!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Optimas

Good thing this thread came up, I did a search and optimas do have lots of issues, I've been chasing what I thought was a drain for 3 years! which I thought killed 2 red top optimas in my other car.

Time to get a new battery other then optima!

·
Registered
156 Posts
The reality is, unless your going to drain your main battery down (which you shouldnt do) you wont need one. An optima battery is designed (a dry cell) as to be an (additional) battery that you can deplete and recharge.

You shouldnt be running your main battery down. I would suggest you buy a nice interstate battery like a mt-39 and then get a battery style capacitor.

This way, you wont be pulling off the stock altenator.
you also wont be drawing too much current when the vehicle is on.

As for the car off and playing amps etc, then, i would say go for another battery a 2nd one and series it to the main battery...
(but only if you plan on cranking it up for a period with the car off). either way you should add a capacitor to any amp over 500 watts. there cheap and easy to install.

·
Registered
122 Posts
That is true of the yellow top Wiley. It's the deep cycle battery, but the red is basically just a really beefy "regular" battery. The other main use of an Optima type battery is that it can be mounted in any direction since it's a dry cell. Also for rockcrawling it won't get messed up by extreme angles while wheeling.

·
Registered
319 Posts