Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
5,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok
I had an excellent idea, start a paint your wheel thread.
If you have painted your wheels, post them here and tell us how you did it.

·
Registered
5,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
This is my first time:

I used Black Rustoleum Laquer on the first set. I cleaned and sanded, no primer.
I did tape off the tires, but still had some overspray.

·
Registered
5,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
2nd shot...

...Not sure if that's a good idea or not, but, somebody's gotta try it!
Thanks!
I did a light sand and shot them to see how it would look.

I like the look. I will redo my wheels, but sand them down first.

This one isn't as good as the first.

·
Registered
809 Posts
I'm impressed with the quality you got from a spray can. Nice work! I think it would look really sic if you either left the center caps unpainted (a little late for that now) or hand-painted "Jeep" in silver/chrome.

·
Registered
2,194 Posts
or hand-painted "Jeep" in silver/chrome.
good idea ,,, he also can put a Jeep sticker before the paint and remove it after it to show the Jeep name on chrome ..

·
Registered
422 Posts
good look cico...were they the gun metal before you painted them?

·
Registered
18 Posts
When you painted the wheels did you take them off the Jeep or leave them on?? probably a stupid question but I'm seriously thinking about painting my wheels as well, same black as yours. Also in the stock wheels there seems to be a fine pattern with seams in it, I was wondering if that changed with the sanding that was done?? Also what grit did you use? and did you use a clear coat?? Sorry but describing what exactly you did and how you did it would be awesome. Thanks

·
Registered
5,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Basic stock aluminum wheel when I started. I washed them down and
scrubbed them. I did not prime the wheels.

I used packaging paper and cut a hole in it and taped around the wheels.