Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You guys must have covered this before, but...
1) How do you reset the "perform Service" EVIC message. Owners manual sez hold reset button three seconds - but that is not doing anything on my 2006 Commander Limited Hemi. Hmmm... Need hold
2) I intend to perform my own oil changes (don't really trust my dealer - want to do it myself anyway). this is the 9000 mile service - Dealer has done 3K and 6K changes. Question is: When I log the change in the service log, it's the same (warranty wise) as if a dealer did it. Right?
3) Yes, I'm a newbie - not only to this forum, but this is my (OK my wife's) first brand new vehicle. We did buy the 7/70 warranty extension - but I'm not trusting of the dealer's techs (after a couple events this year).

thanks

·
Registered
139 Posts
You need to get to the message that says "xxxx MILES TO SERVICE" by pressing "STEP" repeatedly and when that screen shows, that'w when you press reset for 3 seconds.

·
Registered
1,561 Posts
Comma said:
2) I intend to perform my own oil changes (don't really trust my dealer - want to do it myself anyway). this is the 9000 mile service - Dealer has done 3K and 6K changes. Question is: When I log the change in the service log, it's the same (warranty wise) as if a dealer did it. Right?
Just keep the receipts for the oil and filter too.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Remember, you can also change the frequency at which the service message comes on. I'm a 4k service guy, so that is how I set mine.

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
Herd Mentality said:
Remember, you can also change the frequency at which the service message comes on. I'm a 4k service guy, so that is how I set mine.
Same here. Since my Commander isn't driven everyday it doesn't rack up the miles very quickly. I am doing 4,000 miles / 6 month cycle (whichever comes first).

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6