Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Problem: Orange turn signals are ugly.

I have read through a few threads from this site that say getting clear signals are nigh impossible and smoking them is a bad idea from a safety standpoint. So I was wondering if this scenario could work.

Use the fog lights as turn signals. Completely black out the old place for them and hook up the wiring down below to the fog lights. Also buy amber bulbs for the lights down below.

End result is a clear lens with an amber light that can be easily seen and no ugly orange on our jeep.

Workable?

p.s. I am new to car mods please be gentle :)

·
Super Moderator
15,102 Posts
Turn signals are required to be seen from the side and front.

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
Check to see if there is a 2nd bulb in the Turn Signal, at the wrap around part that is visible from the side.

I would think it is possible, to black out the front facing part of the turn signal and leave the side facing portion orange. If there is a 2nd bulb just illuminating the side portion of the turn signal, then it likely will work. If there is NOT, you'd have to leave the 1st bulb in the turn signal working to make the side marker portion of the turn signal work. Blacking out the front facing portion, depending on how you do it, might NOT let the side marker function like it should.

Really, is all that worth it? I really do NOT see how the small amount of Orange is Ugly? But if it is too you, the only way around what I suggest is too mount some sort of side marker that you wire into the parking lamp circuit.

·
2,248 Posts

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
I looked at my Commander last nite, there is a 2nd bulb in the wrap around portion of the turn signal that turns on and off with the park lamps.